[Newbie] Wooden Tool Chest Over Metal?

Fldvr

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Hi all, I was just getting ready to set up dedicated tool chest for measuring and setup tools.
Is there a great reason to go with a Wooden (Expensive) chest over a lined drawer metal
chest?
I'm in ultra humid South Florida, if that makes any kind of difference.

Henry

Hi Henry: I am no expert on humidity but i use a wooden chest to help prevent rusting.

Wood has no magic over metal, just has a wonderful look to it, especially an old one with the proper patina. Wood will absorb moisture, but will also let it out. Metal will do neither. The simple secret to avoiding rust is keeping the temperature/moisture combination AT THE TOOLS warm and dry enough so water never condenses on your tools. There are many ways of achieving that, raise the temperature, lower the humidity with air conditioning, dehumidifying, and/or desiccants, or any combination that achieves a lower relative humidity. Humidity is relative to temperature. The same air gets more humid as it cools. Or, do what I did, move to a drier and warmer climate... 8^)

Various coatings from paints to oils to protective tubes can also help to keep the moisture away from the tools, short term. Another good idea it to store all acids and acid based compounds away from your shop. They will eventually leak and the vapors will corrode everything in the shop.

While i was shopping for a machinist tool chest i read that wood helped prevent rusting by absorbing airborne moisture.
I did not question the logic because building my own tool box from wood freed up enough cash that i was able to purchase a new to me bench grinder It does make more sense that sooner or later that captured moisture has to go somewhere.

http://gerstnerusa.com/made-in-usa-products/chests-and-bases

Last edited:
I've found that wiping down my tools prior to putting them back is very helpful.
I've heard that it has to do with the salt in sweat.