What Type Steel And Size To Use.

kvt

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I am looking to make a small cannon that can shoot golf balls, or I call it a golf ball cannon. What would a good steel be, I was thinking 1018 should work. Next how thick should the walls be. I was thinking somewhere between 1/2 and 3/4. I'm not an engineer and do not know near as much as most of the people on this site.
I am looking more for the noise factor than how far it will shoot a golf ball. But That will be fun as well.
any suggestions will be appreciated. Even places to look etc.

I am looking to make a small cannon that can shoot golf balls, or I call it a golf ball cannon. What would a good steel be, I was thinking 1018 should work. Next how thick should the walls be. I was thinking somewhere between 1/2 and 3/4. I'm not an engineer and do not know near as much as most of the people on this site.
I am looking more for the noise factor than how far it will shoot a golf ball. But That will be fun as well.
any suggestions will be appreciated. Even places to look etc.
Depends entirely on what kind of propellant you intend to use and how much.

For noise just smack a big piece of steel with a hammer.

3/4 sounds extreme but in this case extreme might not be bad. Considering once the projectile leaves the barrel the the barrel becomes a rocket pointed back at you. So the more weight the less the rocket can be propelled back.

I have a little cannon uses like a 1/4 inch projectile that uses the smokeless gun powder and figure using it in this as well. It should not be like a rocket pointed back at me as it will be mounted in something that should dig into the ground is all works right.

Depends entirely on what kind of propellant you intend to use and how much.
as much as I can without blowing up it up. When I put a golf ball in it instead of just a wad, I would like to see it at least go as far as you can drive it with a club.

as much as I can without blowing up it up.