What type of brazing rod is best for repairing cast iron

Ebel440

Active User
Registered
Hi I need to braze a small cast iron part that cracked when it was dropped. The piece that broke off is about 1"x.5x.25. I was wondering which method would give the best results. I could mig with bronze wire. Torch it with bronze rod or torch with silver wire.

You will get a lot of varied opinions. I just did this and used a flux coated bronze rod with a small OA torch. It worked great. Very strong repair. The joint is visible due to the different color of the metal. I would use this method again.

33874263701_2f09b94cda_h.jpg

Reattached the tab on the right.

Robert

I should have mentioned I have no experience brazing cast iron. I have done some steel brazing. I'm going to paint it after repairing it so color isn't a concern. Did you do any preheat or post heat? How much heat did you use?

I preheated with a propane torch mainly because I was afraid of cracking the delicate piece with uneven heat. I do not think this was absolutely necessary. You just need enough heat to melt the braze metal. In my case it was a bright red but not orange.
R

I should have mentioned I have no experience brazing cast iron. I have done some steel brazing. ... Did you do any preheat or post heat?

I've been told that preheat is essential, that the cast iron is weak and brittle otherwise.
The idea, is to get it up to a few hundred degrees (not red, just melting-solder),
then it's less brittle. Also, you want it to cool slowly. A bed of cold ashes was
traditional for lowering stress during cooling, modern practice uses ceramic
or maybe fiberglass blankets.

Like, this video:<
>

Last edited: