What Is This?

davearmstrong

Registered
Registered
Hi Everyone,

Sorry, I'm very new to all this so my questions will likely be daft. Spent a lot of time as a kid watching my dad using a lathe but I've yet to turn anything myself. Old man passed away over a decade ago now and his big lathe was gifted to a friend, but I've always wanted to set up a home machine shop. Anyways, rummaging around in his old boxes I found a little lathe... and that I can smuggle into the house and set up without riling up she who must be obeyed.

Unfortunately after cleaning it up, I'm having a little trouble figuring out exactly what I'm dealing with here. I'm looking for any advice. I'd like to get it set-up with a small (80mm) three jaw chuck and able to spin small jobs. Plenty of other improvements come to mind, but baby steps.

WP_20160607_004.jpg
So this is the lathe, plaque reads Harris Scarfe Limited Adelaide. Researching them, they are a department store in Adelaide Australia. Nowadays they sell clothing and pans etc, but there are a few flyers from their early days showing they sold machinery etc. Cant find any mention of a lathe from them though.
WP_20160607_013.jpg
The only other hint, BIRMAL. Research tells me that is the Birmingham Aluminium Castings company, and they made parts for hundreds of other suppliers, bit of a dead end also.
WP_20160607_009.jpgWP_20160607_010.jpgWP_20160607_011.jpg
Where I come unstuck is that the spindle is unlike other small lathes I can find. Watchmakers have a hollow spindle a collet can mount into, mini lathes have male threads you can spin an backing plate/adaptor on to.