• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Untitled 1

    As promised, a formal announcement has been made regarding recent changes in the administrative staff here at H-M.

    Please take a few moments to go to our home page and review that announcement.

[4]

What Do You Use To Draw/design Projects?

[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

MemorY

Iron
Registered Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2016
Messages
22
Likes
9
Fusion 360 is my go to software for CAD and design, but if that doesn't work I go to Rhinoceros or Zbrush, but I always start off with quick sketches on my iPad. Then take those sketches into the software and build up from there.
 

sgisler

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2012
Messages
348
Likes
146
Welcome!
What app are you using on your iPad?
I've done a little in Fusion, but real work keeps getting in the way of working with and learning it better.
Recently bought Solidworks for paying jobs, so learning that is occupying most of my brain-space now.


Stan
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

MemorY

Iron
Registered Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2016
Messages
22
Likes
9
Welcome!
What app are you using on your iPad?
I've done a little in Fusion, but real work keeps getting in the way of working with and learning it better.
Recently bought Solidworks for paying jobs, so learning that is occupying most of my brain-space now.


Stan
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thank you!
I'm using ProCreate on my iPad Pro. It's pretty much photoshop on a tablet. It's awesome! I'm able to sketch freehand and then can just share the jpg or png to Fusion.

Fusion has a ton of free webinars that they post about on Facebook. Plus they record them and post to youtube. They have a ton of tutorials on there on how to get started with design, sculpting, CAM, similation, prepping for 3D printing, and so on. A few friends of mine have actually done a couple webinars on there. I'd highly suggest to check them out.

I'm currently taking a Solidworks class at school and... I'm constantly frustrated with it... I know that people love it and whatnot but the workflow for me, but that's me. Not everyone is me. :)
 

sgisler

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2012
Messages
348
Likes
146
Thank you!
I'm using ProCreate on my iPad Pro. It's pretty much photoshop on a tablet. It's awesome! I'm able to sketch freehand and then can just share the jpg or png to Fusion.

Fusion has a ton of free webinars that they post about on Facebook. Plus they record them and post to youtube. They have a ton of tutorials on there on how to get started with design, sculpting, CAM, similation, prepping for 3D printing, and so on. A few friends of mine have actually done a couple webinars on there. I'd highly suggest to check them out.

I'm currently taking a Solidworks class at school and... I'm constantly frustrated with it... I know that people love it and whatnot but the workflow for me, but that's me. Not everyone is me. :)
i'll have to give that one a look. i'm probably due for a new ipad too.
i've gone through some of their tutorials and find Fusion pretty easy to follow. i'm self-taught on AutoCAD and used it for years. now i use Draftsight (for 2D stuff) and Sketchup Pro. i would agree with you about Solidworks' workflow; not exactly intuitive (to me).
 

MemorY

Iron
Registered Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2016
Messages
22
Likes
9
i'll have to give that one a look. i'm probably due for a new ipad too.
i've gone through some of their tutorials and find Fusion pretty easy to follow. i'm self-taught on AutoCAD and used it for years. now i use Draftsight (for 2D stuff) and Sketchup Pro. i would agree with you about Solidworks' workflow; not exactly intuitive (to me).
Ya. I'd wait till towards the end of the month. Apple may, rumored to, have another keynote. :D Fingers crossed!
 

ovenpaa

Iron
Registered Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2011
Messages
5
Likes
0
Solidworks 2016 for 3D, Trimble Sketchup 2016 (Free edition) for quick sketches and a biro and half a sheet of A4 for working notes :)
 

Bill Gruby

Global Moderator
Staff member
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2012
Messages
5,430
Likes
1,935
Solidworks 2016 for 3D, Trimble Sketchup 2016 (Free edition) for quick sketches and a biro and half a sheet of A4 for working notes :)
I'm a pencil pusher, could somebody re-write this for me? That last part about biro and half sheet of A4 means nothing to me.

"Billy G"
 

Bill Gruby

Global Moderator
Staff member
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2012
Messages
5,430
Likes
1,935
RATZ -- now I have to learn what a ball point pen is again. ROTFLMBO

:Billy G"
 
Last edited:

paoldschool

Iron
Registered Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2016
Messages
5
Likes
3
So mostly sketch things out with paper and pencil. I have Fusion 360, still working on that... I've been away from AutoCAD for over a decade, so a lot has changed!!! I still have all of my drafting tools from the days before CAD, and I still use them sometimes too.:chunky:
 

Downunder Bob

H-M Supporter - Premium Member
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
May 16, 2016
Messages
585
Likes
206
Biro = Ballpoint Pen, invented by Ladislas Biro
A4 = metric paper size, A4 measures 210 × 297 millimeters or 8.27 × 11.69
Biro has become the default generic name for a ball point pen. and A4 paper is the standard size of printer paper used in most of the world, I think in USA they use something different. incidentally half an A4 is an A5, and an A4 is an A3 cut in half. Etc.
 

brino

Active User
H-M Supporter - Sustaining Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2014
Messages
2,882
Likes
2,692
OK, a little off topic......

Biro has become the default generic name for a ball point pen.
....maybe in your part of the world, I had never heard it before.....and will probably never use it.
Perhaps it's just me turning old and grumpy, but why rename something we already have a perfectly good name for?
-brino
 

savarin

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2012
Messages
1,603
Likes
2,081
because Biro is quicker than saying "Ball point pen" ?
Bit like "Hoover" being the generic name for vacuum cleaners.
One day everyone will learn how to spell Aluminium correctly. :laughing: sorry, been doing a bit too much of this :beer:
 

Bill Gruby

Global Moderator
Staff member
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2012
Messages
5,430
Likes
1,935
Different parts of the world, different names for things. A Belt Sander in England is a Linisher. Not a big deal, I just wondered what it was. Thank you for the explanations folks. Learned something new today.

"Billy G"
 
Last edited:

Bill Gruby

Global Moderator
Staff member
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2012
Messages
5,430
Likes
1,935
For the longest time Charles I could not figure that word out either. When I first saw it I said to myself, "Why don't they just use a Belt Sander." Then I was enlightened to what it was. Origin of the word, I don't know either.

"Billy G"
 

brino

Active User
H-M Supporter - Sustaining Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2014
Messages
2,882
Likes
2,692
because Biro is quicker than saying "Ball point pen" ?
....except it turns out to be waaaay longer than either "ball-point pen"(unusual to say all that) or simply "pen" (more normal) since you then have to explain to everyone what "biro" means!

I do "get" the regional differences in terms and the enjoyment of conversation and learning something new.

However, since we are off topic, that's the last you'll hear from me on this.

-brino
 
Last edited:

taycat

Active Member
Active Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2015
Messages
256
Likes
323
afraid i am old school.
drawing board and paper that's how i learned at school.
drawing board came out british aerospace near where i lived when it shut down, one of my neighbours was in design department and got it for me along with load of draughtsmen's kit which i still have.
oh and fact i'm rubbish with doing other than basics on computer.
 

Glenn Brooks

H-M Supporter - Premium Member
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2014
Messages
658
Likes
696
So far, I do most of my drawing/design work on a white board in my shop. Actually I have three white boards of various sizes, so larger projects go on the highest board - small stuff with 2 or 3 critical dimensions go on the small one. These are also great for making quick note of diameters, measurements, cutting speeds, etc., and rapid prototyping an idea into some semblance of actual structure.

Loaded fusion 360 last winter but haven't had the time ( or discipline) to learn it. Still hoping though ....

Glenn P.
 

Dan_S

Active User
Active Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
885
Likes
690
Is anyone using a Microsoft surface 3 or surface pro 3 with fusion 360? It's time for me to get a new tablet and if I can replace my tablet & cheap laptop with one devise that would be great.

The surface pro 4 is to big for my tastes, as I want something I can slide into my camera bags.
 

Superburban

Active Member
Active Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2016
Messages
310
Likes
252
I regret leaving my old drafting table with the mechanical arm behind when I moved, but only had so much room.

:bawling: I just cannot seem to put my ideas into a computer like I could draw them up.


a-series-paper-sizes-1.jpg
 

ebolton

Iron
Registered Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2017
Messages
21
Likes
8
I have access to Creo (Pro/E), Solidworks, and Inventor/AutoCad at work, and Draftsight at home and at work. They each have their strengths. Since the work project I'm assigned to now is a Creo project, I tend to use Creo for my personal stuff as well. I do find the initial conceptual stage is best handled in 2-D, in AutoCad or Draftsight. Which I use depends on where I'm sitting when the urge strikes.

-Ed
 

ch2co

Grumpy Old Man
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2013
Messages
782
Likes
516
I use a program called Vectoworks, that I got through an education discount about 14 years ago. It seems to be basically an architectural program for big buildings, but I found it to fit my needs very well with all of its simple to use pre drawn items like screws, washers, nuts, bolts etc. Click on the little icon and you get a perfectly sized say 4-40 x 3/8 socket head set screw with hollow point or whatever you want, with highly accurate threads and hex dimensions etc. You can then easily rotate it to whatever view you need, top end, side view, bottom view at any angle. Zoom in and out with dimensions of .0001 accuracy (at least) I found it very easy to use and learned all I needed for my simple purposes in 2d. It can do 3d and I ventured into that mode a few times, but always gave up and went back to 3-view mode. Today it costs many thousands of bucks so it clearly wouldn't be my recommendation for most amateur mechanical drawing needs that I have. Since its a considerably older version I have to shut down my computer and restart it under an older operating system in order to still use it which can be a real pain. I've played around with AutoCad and Fusion 360 which looks great, but doesn't seem to work very well with the neurons and dexterity of my old brain. You use what you have and what you know is my motto, especially when it works for you and your a grumpy old guy.

CHuck the grumpy old guy
 

Camarillojohn

Swarf
Registered Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2017
Messages
3
Likes
0
I use an old version of SolisWorks most of the time , I like lt a lot, now I'm learning Fusion 360 because it has CAM in the same program.
Being retired I am fortunate to have the time to spend on learning this excellent software, I recommend it to everyone.
 

Steve Peterson

Iron
Registered Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2017
Messages
16
Likes
4
I do most of the design work in my head and a few scraps of paper. I sometimes wake up in the middle of the night and solve some tricky design details.

Anything that is going to be cut on the CNC will get drawn up using TurboCAD 21.

Steve
 

Downunder Bob

H-M Supporter - Premium Member
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
May 16, 2016
Messages
585
Likes
206
Is anyone using a Microsoft surface 3 or surface pro 3 with fusion 360? It's time for me to get a new tablet and if I can replace my tablet & cheap laptop with one devise that would be great.

The surface pro 4 is to big for my tastes, as I want something I can slide into my camera bags.
I have a surface Pro 2 128. it was originally win 8 but upgraded to win 10. Love it, very fast, easy to use light weight and although I haven't tried fusion 360 I see no reason why it wouldn't run it. It's quite a powerful little machine, my only complaint is only 1 USB port, but you can always use a multi block USB, I have successfully used 4 USB devices that way. I have fusion 360 loaded onto my desktop, but have neither the time nor the discipline to learn it. Most of my designs sit in my head always have, occasionally when it gets complicated I might make a pencil sketch.
 
[6]
[5] [7]