• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • PLEASE: Read the FORUM RULES BEFORE registering!

What Do You Use To Draw/design Projects?

Nels

Founder/Mechanic
Staff member
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Please be specific....

pebbleworm

Active User
Usually a back of the napkin grade sketch with a couple of key dimensions added in. I'm new at this. Drawing the sketch sometimes points out things I hadn't realized before. I have gone beyond the point where I wished I had made a sketch before starting...

4gsr

HM Chief Foreman
Staff member
I use Draftsight for 2D drawings I use as well for customers I do design work for. Want to go forward to the 3D world, but have no time to learn it. Been playing with a couple of the free programs out there. I don't care for cloud based programs, but do like the looks of Autodesk Fusion 360.

RJSakowski

H-M Supporter - Premium Member
I use SolidWorks for CAD, SprutCAM or HSM Works for CAM. I am also working at developing skills in Fusion 360 for an integrated CAD/CAM package.
I find it simpler to do my sketching in SolidWorks rather than with paper and pencil. There's no need for an eraser as I work through the design process.

Cavediver

Autocad 2016
I also use Rhino once in a while.

scalci

Iron
Registered Member
I use to use many of the products mentioned above. I moved to Fusion 360 a few months back and dont look back. I can 2d draw, 3d draw, print out the drawing plan, and create CAM for my cnc.... Really good software and for the home it is free.....

T Bredehoft

Active User
I used AutoCAD until the copy I had wouldn't load in my Windows 8 computer. I now use ProgeCAD, It's similar, but sometimes frustrating, it gets easily confused, (or so it seems.)

atunguyd

Active User