• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • PLEASE: Read the FORUM RULES BEFORE registering!

Welding Table Build

BFHammer

H-M Supporter - Premium Member
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
I'm a YouTube taught welder. After a couple of years of welding on my Harbor Freight table and/or the basement floor I decided it was time for an upgrade.

I scoped out a bunch of great builds on the web and headed to the local steel yard. I was looking for a plate somewhere in the neighborhood of 30" x 48". As luck would have it the 1/2" plate on the top of the drop stack was closer to 4' x 8'. They made me a deal I couldn't refuse and I hauled it home.

It took the engine hoist to unload it and the plasma cutter to get it down to size. Since I now had more to work with I decided. 3 1/2' x 6' would work just fine.

For the past couple of months it has camped out on my heavy duty sawhorses. This weekend I finally got started on the build.

IMG_2316.JPG

BFHammer

The legs will be 3x3 3/16
IMG_2317.JPG

Since it needs to be mobile I got some 6" poly on iron casters. The caster plates are bigger than the 3x3 legs and I had plenty of left over 1/2 plate some I made some plates.
IMG_2318.JPG

Unfortunately to accommodate both the caster plate and the 3x3 legs it's a tight fit. I had to dry fit it to make sure I would keep clearance for the nuts.
IMG_2322.JPG IMG_2324.JPG

Last edited:

BFHammer

Got them welded up and everything still fits!
IMG_2320.JPG IMG_2321.JPG

I used angle iron on one side as I will be dropping a tool chest in that end. The small plate in this picture is just a spacer while I got it tacked up.
IMG_2327.JPG

Bob Korves

A 1/2" by 4x8' drop? I gotta find that place! Good score!

BFHammer

A 1/2" by 4x8' drop? I gotta find that place! Good score!