warping

Flyrod

Registered
Registered
Hi Guys - I am pretty new to welding

i wish to make a 5"x 5"x 26" long column as part of a pedestal stand for a belt sander - material is 1/4" flat stock, mild steel (HR)

i assume that on the first two welds, they should be on the inside, correct?

if I make multiple tacks, is there an issue then going down the rest of the seam where the material will distort from the heat build up?

once the fourth side is on, i have no choice but to weld on the outside...so i guess 2 seams will look a little different than the other two...just grind to try to make it not noticeable? (i am planning to overlap the pieces - so 2 pieces 4.5 and 2 pieces 5)

thanks

i suppose another way to go (to not have to rip a 1/2" off of two 26" lengths of 5" flat stock is to abut all the inner edges and weld all four seams on the outside?

same question there as to warping

that also avoids 2 seams looking different

Not sure why you need to weld the inside. If the weld is clean and proper, then welding the outside will be enough.
Tack the corners one, then the opposite corner and it should pull it back to straight if done quickly before the first tack cools.

I think this is what Flyrod is suggesting, and how I would do it. Weld on the outsides of all 4 joints, staggering short welds to avoid getting the metal hot enough to warp. The bead should be about 1/4" so the finished product will be a nicely corner rounded part.
If the pieces are 5" wide x 1/2" thick this would end up as a 51/2" square column. Start with 41/2"x1/4" to get a 5" square column.5x5.jpg

Thanks guys

I agree it should all be done in the outside that's clear now

In terms of progressing should I do two pieces to Corners than the other two pieces both Corners in order to get the whole thing together before welding on it or is it better to weld two sides all the way and then Mount the other two sides all the way