• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Guest,  We want to wish You and Your Family a Healthy, Happy Thanksgiving! Click the "X" at the top right corner to remove this notice)
  • PLEASE: Read the FORUM RULES BEFORE registering!

4

Want Local File Functionality In Fusion360?

3
Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!
10

robotwizard

Iron
Registered Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2014
Messages
12
Likes
0
#1
Want to be able to save, backup, load, and organize your files to your local machine like other functional normal software without all the hassle and slow upload/download issues buitin to Fusion360 presently? Want more reliable, safe file storage?

Cast your vote and post your comment for Autdesk developers here:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/ideas.../locally-store-all-files/idc-p/6831448#M21855

If enough of our voices are heard this could be included in future updates
 

TRX

Active User
Active Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2012
Messages
67
Likes
17
#3
I've been looking at the glowing reviews of the product, but the "cloud only" part is a deal-breaker for me.
 

Doubleeboy

Active User
Active Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2014
Messages
625
Likes
328
#4
I've been looking at the glowing reviews of the product, but the "cloud only" part is a deal-breaker for me.

I am no apologist for Fusion, but it is my understanding that you only have to hook up once every two weeks for updates, other than that you can run it without being online.
 

Groundhog

H-M Supporter - Premium Member
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2016
Messages
505
Likes
602
#5
You can export to your local machine in a number of formats.
 

shooter123456

Active Member
Active Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2016
Messages
218
Likes
238
#6
I am no apologist for Fusion, but it is my understanding that you only have to hook up once every two weeks for updates, other than that you can run it without being online.
They say you can do that, but I have had lots of trouble trying to start Fusion without an internet connection. It typically refuses to open without one so I need to make sure to start it up while I am connected, and not close it until I will have internet again.
 

Groundhog

H-M Supporter - Premium Member
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2016
Messages
505
Likes
602
#7
They say you can do that, but I have had lots of trouble trying to start Fusion without an internet connection. It typically refuses to open without one so I need to make sure to start it up while I am connected, and not close it until I will have internet again.
Maybe so. I've rarely tried to start it without an internet connection.
Another thing that concerns me is how long will AutoDesk keep the "free to hobbiest" deal going? I read that they recently had a similar thing going with a cad system to design (I think) circuit boards. They dropped the "free" deal and users were left with only the option to purchase it for big bucks (AutoCad like bucks). What would happen with your data files saved to the AutoDesk cloud in a situation like that? And even if you could retrieve your files could you open them in another program?
I have been using Fusion 360, but can be kinda scary.
 
[6]
5 [7]