Vise size for 728-VT

andrewgr

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
How big is too big? How much of the vise can reasonably hang over the front edge of the mill bed? A 6" vise is so heavy, my intuition tells me that the weight of the overhang would twist the milling bed over time-- but I'm a complete novice, so I don't trust my intuition at all.

I purchased a used 6" Kurt vise, but I'm afraid to put it on-- the mill bed is 7" deep, whilst the vise is 17" deep! I've got a 4" vise, and it looks more appropriately sized (it's only 9" deep), but it's also pretty limiting-- I've done very little with my mill so far, but I've already run into multiple situations where I'd really, really like those extra 2".

Any advise would be appreciated.

No offense intended, but if you think you need a 6" vise, you may have bought too small of a mill. My mill table is 9x35, and I have a 5" Kurt on it that has 6" jaws. Works great for me, but I'm mostly into small(er) stuff like pistolsmithing and hobby stuff.

That 6" will eat into your Y axis range a bit too. Most guys like us with smaller mills run out of Y and Z axis travel quite a bit. ;)

I often recommend looking at a CNC style which is more compact if you want a 6" on a smaller mill, so a bit more limited in the jaw opening (overhang is similar to a 5"). I do not see the front overhang is going to effect the mill bed, but it does obscure the Y axis dial if you do not use a DRO. Like Bill mentioned, the overhang in the rear is often a significant problem on smaller mills, and further limits the Y axis travel. I ran a 6" on my previous bench top mill (BF-30), note the mounting bolts for the vise, so it does overhang forward quite a bit. Having 6" Jaws makes a big difference in what you can hold, but it it has its tradeoffs. The BF-30 was around 700 lbs w/o the base, so a bit beefier than the 728, a full size 6" vise is a bit too big.

BF30 Mill 5.jpg