Using & trusting a brand-new Starrett 98-6 machinist's level

I should have you check my level, its pretty old but I think its in good shape. Tim

My day job is as a metrologist, so I have calibrated many precision levels, like the Starrett #199. When I calibrate these levels at work we need to make sure that the temperature hasn't changed more than 2 degrees in the past 8 hours & that the level has been in the same environment for that 8 hours. We try for 68F (20C). The first check is for flatness. This is the hardest part of the calibration & requires some skill & practice. But for you guys at home long as it doesn't rock move when you push on any one corner, & then you are probably flat enough. Yes the levels are made slightly concave & you shouldn't use them on anything that is shorter than the level.

Clean the level & the surface plate, checking the level for any burrs or other damage. Level the surface plate (using the level you are calibrating) & let the level sit for a few minutes, re-check level & readjust as needed. Then rotate the level end for end putting back up against your reference point. I use two 2x6 granite parallel bars with 1 perpendicular to the other, & held in place to the surface plate with modeling clay, to maintain a reference point. A few minutes later after the level settles it should indicate the same level reading. If not double check your first reading, rechecking to ensure that everything is clean before adjusting the level. Screws & jam nuts type adjustments are very touchy, & it may take some time to get it spot on, the only to find that when you tighten down the jam nuts you throw the level out of whack again. A light touch is needed & always allow time to let it settle. Sometime I'm not even be sure I moved it at all when adjusting it, that how light of a touch you need, unless it's way out already, probably from moving the adjustment to much in the first place.