Understanding Grinding

glenbjackson

Registered
Registered
grinding I don't see how grinding, correct me if i'm wrong, is the last word in surface finish. my question is if grinders use wheels that are consumables how can this process be consistent for any length of work. Even a thin gear, after one pass on a tooth the wheel will be a smaller diameter, so on the next tooth to be grinded, it will be taller after it's grinding pass then the previous tooth and so on. and yes I realize these are very small amounts but still a difference. Am I missing something? do the machine taper depending on the wheel material or just step up slightly on every pass?

You understand correctly, but assuming you're doing it right (correct wheel selection for the material being ground, appropriate feed rate, etc.) you're overestimating the rate of wear. I am not a grinding expert beyond having done enough to know that it can definitely be done wrong, resulting in exactly what you're picturing (among other problems). Sometimes on large parts it requires multiple paases, dressing the wheel between, to accurately remove as much material as you can in a single pass on a smaller workpiece.

The Suburban Tool YouTube channel has several excellent videos on the subject, covering theory and best practices. And they'll happily sell you some very shiny mag chucks and other grinding accessories. :)

You first answer pretty well sums it up. Everything wares. Even your carbide tooling. If it's in spec tho it doesn't matter. If your goal is .0001"+/-.00001 & your to wares .000005" you'll probably hit your goal. If not you measure reset & take another pass.