Turning 3/16" Mild Steel

RVJimD

Active User
Registered
Hi guys,

I am turning down some cold rolled steel and having trouble with it wanting to crawl up on the tool. I am starting with 3/16" rod and only need to take off about .025". If I try to take it all in one pass it crawls up on the tool and bends it at the chuck. The parts are 1" long and I chuck it as close to that as possible. If I take two or three passes I can get some of them finished. I was thinking I would be able to do them in a single pass... I need them turned down just enough to fit inside some brass tube. Not sure there is any better method of I am just stuck making several light cuts?

I am stuck with reducing the size vs using a stock size because of the parts they mate up with, otherwise I would use tube and shaft that matched.

IMAG0974_zpsgv59x155.jpg

Jim

Fair warning: I'm a complete novice and really don't know what I'm talking about, but I thought I'd share my experience anyway.

Are you taking 0.025" off the diameter or off the radius? Hand ground HSS tooling or inserts? By "crawling up on the tool" do you mean the part is deflecting away from you (from tool pressure) or actually deflecting upward (which I suspect might mean a dull tool that isn't cutting well).

I only use hand-ground HSS tools. For thin rods, I usually have more success by taking larger bites than small ones. Taking a cut of 0.010" to 0.020" (radially) ensures more on-axis load from tool pressure than radial load. Trying to take off just a thou or two is much harder since the part will just deflect. That is, with more depth-of-cut it feels that you're pushing more on the end than you are deflecting the part side-to-side.

The success factors for me are: collets, freshly sharpened and honed HSS tools, and an optivisor to see whether I'm really on center and cutting the way I want.