Trying to date a Craftsman 12x36

Oldhenry1

Registered
Registered
I'm completely new to machining.
I picked up a Craftsman 12x36 Lathe Model 101 28910 Serial # 108321 awhile ago. I'm trying to find a ball park date for it.
And a supplier for a Mid/Steady Rest if possible.

Best guess from the serial number would be 1975 or 1976. Unfortunately, Atlas or Timken stopped engraving the bearing inspection dates onto the spindle bearings in 1952 or 53. That is a pretty good model to have. One thing you can try is examine the inner surfaces of the bed casting for a date cast into it. If you do, add one or two years to that date. Atlas claimed that bed castings were rough ground after casting and them allowed to season or cure for a couple of years before finish machining. The typical problem, however, is that the date is fairly often illegible.

One of the things that you should do is to check whether the compound and cross slide gibs are steel or plastic. If they are plastic, you need to replace them with steel ones. Unfortunately, although Clausing Industrial still has quite a few new parts available for the Atlas lathes, all that they have for these two gibs will be plastic. I don't know for certain why Clausing changed but assume that it was the bean counter's faul Joel does a good job on them so try MyMachineShop.net for steel ones. I used to carry them but don't any more.

Last edited:
Evening OldHenry1. I ain’t every heard of someone trying to “date” a lathe before, but I’d be careful. Those Atlases make many lust after them…you’re likely to love it and it’s bound to break your wallet and your heart bad jokes aside, happy to hear you’ve got a commercial grade unit. Maybe one day I’ll find one in my price range? About a steady rest, I thought I saw one on eBay recently but don’t see it now? I’ll keep an eye out for one.

Thank you for the replies. I have sooo much to learn.
I like to know when things were built.