Try this again.. Undercutting experience?

echesak

Active User
Registered
Seems that my first post on this topic got lost in the aether...

I have a 1/2" plate of aluminum that has 2 opposing 1" bored holes, that are at a 2 degree angle. I've machined a few of these by angling the mill head. But with the CNC, I was thinking I should be able to bore these angled holes directly, while the plate is sitting flat. I'd start first by machining out a straight bore at about 0.975 and then using an undercut (lollipop) mill bit to clean-up the edges and to angle the hole. It seems that it would, in theory, be pretty simple to do, since it's basically a circle path, step-over, step down, then repeat. But my CAM software doesn't appear to be able to do this directly (SprutCAM). I've been working with Tormach support on this, but they indicated that SprutCAM can't do this operation.

So I was thinking of trying to code this up myself. I'm very new to CNC and still learning. So I was wondering if anyone here, with G-code expererience, wanted to help. Alternatively, I'd be interested in seeing if anyone else's CAM software might be able to do this operation. This would allow me to machine the part profile, internal structures and the angled bores, all in one set-up. Sure I could make a 2 degree fixture, but I wanted to see if there was any experience doing this kind of operation here.

Here's a section view that shows that this undercut angled hole is possible with a 3/8" lollipop mill bit.

Any thoughts?

Thanks,

Eric

Last edited by a moderator:
The one thing that comes to mind is to create a series of circle profiles, where each one has the proper step down and step over relative to the previous one. Then when run sequentially they would create the hole at the proper angle. The step down might require a bit of experimenting to find the correct amount for a smooth surface.