Tormach, Tts And Other Tooling Systems?

echesak

Active User
Registered
Howdy folks,

I've been contemplating a Tormach for a couple years. I like the simplicity of the Tormach TTS, but would be interested in hearing from others that maybe have bought similar tooling elsewhere, or have their Tormach (or other CNC) differently. Obviously the referenced Z location is a plus. But I'm wondering about the repeatability of the TTS, since the R8 Chuck retracts into the spindle, when tightened. So it would seem that differing air pressure would cause the collet to pull harder or less hard, affecting the Z-reference. Am I missing something here?

I'd love to get a Haas Mini mill with the Cat40, but I don't think that's in the budget (even a used one).

Any others have a different thought on tooling set-up for small/home CNC's?

Thanks,

Eric

I have a new 770 with TTS. I have only had on problem and that was my fault. I did not get the collet tight enough and the holder backed out a little under heavy cutting load. My bad. The collet only provides the holding power the tool holder sets on the face of the spindle so it locates the same every time. Love the TTS system.

Dave

I've read about folks having trouble keeping the TTS engaged under large loads. I'm pretty conservative though.

I didn't realize that the TTS reference was on the spindle. That makes a lot more sense.

How's the Tormach, tooling and other aspects generally holding up?

Thanks for the info.

Eric

I also have a PCNC770 and really like it! As Dave said the tool holder locates against the face of the spindle. If you get the power draw bar option it uses a longer draw bar and spring washers to tighten the R8 collet, air pressure is only used to release the collet.

Kevin