Toolmaster Collet Puzzle

kd1yt

Active User
Registered
I am the fortunate new owner of a nicely kept Cincinnati Toolmaster 1-B milling machine
http://www.hobby-machinist.com/showthread.php/26369-New-Toolmaster-owner?p=232947#post232947

Unfortunately, nowhere with the machine are any of the monoset/ superflex/ 3CH collets, and I am quickly learning that they are kinda unusual, scarce, and expensive. I am a hobbyist, new to all of this, with a limited budget.

I have been searching Google and reading threads about peoples' solutions to the monoset collet weirdness/ scarcity, but the technical levels of many of those discussions that I find are beyond my current depth of understanding

Would there be any big downsides to my getting a large (say 1.25) proper 3CH collet and then using that to "mount up" a more common straight shank collet chuck like an ER40? I know that I'd lose a bit of vertical working space, but I won't be working on anything vertically immense in any way where that should matter.

Or, would there be any way to adapt something like this into the quill of the Toolmaster, to be able to use the much more common ER-type collets - I 'think' based on my really incomplete understanding that the 40 taper is 7/24 and so is the primary taper of the quill for the 3CH-
http://www.dzsalesllc.com/er40-70-chuck-set-p/40-70-ccs.htm

Thanks for the help and for patience with the questions of someone who is just beginning to learn any of this.

I prefer my Cincy 1B over the Bridgeys at the Tech School where I'm taking machine classes.
My 1956 came without any collets as well.
There are multiple used collets available on Ebay from several different sellers.
I started buying them one at a time based on the most common shank sizes of the end mills I had or wanted to acquire.
I've had great luck with them holding well without any of the slippage problems I occasionally hear about with other collet systems.