Tooling up - Drills

Mirage33

Registered
Registered
Ok, first post, here I go with the dumb questions!
I've been in "tooling acquisition" mode lately to set my "workshop" up, centered on a 7x16 mini lathe . As a beginner, I bought a set of 115 jobber drills at a reasonable price with LMS. Reading on the forum, I'm realizing that I perhaps made a mistake as the drills have a black oxide finish while I will mainly machine aluminum, polymers and brass. I will of course process some steel from time to time but it won't be my primary material. I understand that black oxide finish could cause the drills to grab aluminum rather than cut it and it seems that the preferred bit finish should be "polished". I already went above and beyond my initial budget and am reluctant to spend again to get a "polished" set.
So, metal gurus, could my current bits (black) work with a lot of coolant/lubricant? I am not going to use these intensively but wonder if they could ruin a work.
Thanks for any answer.

Ok, first post, here I go with the dumb questions!

First, there are no dumb questions here. I don't have a mini lathe so I'm not the best sounding board. I have heard others that do own/operate them that at times jobber bits are too long, that mechanic's bits (shorter) fit the bill better.

In regard to the black oxide finish, :shrugs:.

I got in on the 'group buy' on bits recently and they're not BO (they're shiny) but they work really well. I've never had fractional, number & letter drill bits before and now I don't know how I lived without 'em!

The black oxide will hold lube better than uncoated. I think you are okay. The length may come into play but I just get those short ones as I need them. So far I use the 115 piece set like crazy and have a few machine screw length for those occasions.
Dave

I've not had a problem using black oxide in aluminum. Peck drill (in about a drill diameter or so, then pull out to clear), and my favorite cutting oil for aluminum is WD-40.