Tooling question

Southtowns27

Registered
Registered
Hey guys, as some of you know I just picked up a South Bend 9A. I'm working on getting it set up and need some advice. The machine has a quick change tool post as well as the original lantern style. The lantern style tool holders accept 1/4" square HSS tooling. No big deal there. My question is what to get for the quick change. The machine came with some 3/8" brazed carbide tipped tools, but only a few. Would I be better off picking up more of the same, or should I go for tools with the replaceable carbide inserts? Advantages one way or the other? Or, should I just buy some 3/8" HSS and grind my own? I plan to use the machine for steel, brass, and aluminum.

I'm not an expert by any criteria and have no training but I would suggest the HSS 3/8 bits and grind your own plus a bunch of holders.
Greater versatility in my humble opinion.

Savarins nailed it. Learn how to grind HSS bits then you can make pretty much any tool shape you want. And sharpen them too

Cheers Phil

Hey guys, as some of you know I just picked up a South Bend 9A. I'm working on getting it set up and need some advice. The machine has a quick change tool post as well as the original lantern style. The lantern style tool holders accept 1/4" square HSS tooling. No big deal there. My question is what to get for the quick change. The machine came with some 3/8" brazed carbide tipped tools, but only a few. Would I be better off picking up more of the same, or should I go for tools with the replaceable carbide inserts? Advantages one way or the other? Or, should I just buy some 3/8" HSS and grind my own? I plan to use the machine for steel, brass, and aluminum.
HSS tool bits and a good universal armstrong lantern toolpost and complete set
Grind you own cutting tools