Tool Height Adjustment

Or better yet with a stone.

Yeah stones are handy, i keep meening to get a better selection as their pritty good value general use items.

Silly question maybe but can you get small stones in shapes for hard to reach places? Or are the dimond coated small files good for that sort of stuff?

Stuart

What type of stone? Any chance you could provide a link?
I am new to this as well and have a used mini with a few dings in the bed.

I tend to use general oil stones , probably because i don't know better, i use the finest one i have to hand but their generaly quite big, i see people with more palm sized ones in fine grits for very light abbraising of raised bumps.

I used to find on my 9x20 that moderatly hevey cuting could make the top slide less than happy if it was over hanging at just the wrong angle or length. Take a pic of set up if you get a chance, it will turn in to CSI LATHE and we all like that

;-)

Stuart

Thanks for the input everybody!

The issue is that when cutting, vertical force applied to the tool causes the tool to tip enough to affect the depth of the cut, further exacerbated by the fact that the tool is hanging off the side of a QCTP thereby a further distance from the post . Not a lot, but enough to be visible on a polished surface. It is especially apparent when reversing the rotation direction causing the tool to tip in the other direction. I haven’t measured it yet, but maybe .001” or .0005”, something I consider a real problem that I doubt I can overcome with a more practiced technique.
The carriage is not designed for an “UP” force only a “DOWN” force. Notice that the compound and cross ride on flats in the dovetail in the down force. And only on the angle in the up force. And there isn’t much holding the whole carriage down on that lathe either. You add that all up and that is why you see the excessive play in the up force.