Tip For Finish Scraping

loply

Registered
Registered
Hi folks,

I was scraping in an 18x12 iron surface plate tonight, and I thought I'd post a 'tip' which I've learned. Never read this anywhere else, but, I've certainly found it helps me obtain a consistent and even distribution of blue when in the finishing stages. I'm no expert but I have done a lot of scraping in the last 3 years or so.

This tip applies once I've got full bearing and I'm trying to get consistent distribution of the blue. I'll take a normal scraping pass and remove the blue as per usual, I then stone the part really quite heavily so that I'm actually flattening the part locally, then I'll rotate 90 degrees and mark out parallel lines with a pencil approx 1.5 inches apart, then I'll run a full scraping pass over the entire part. Obviously at this point no blue is present so I'm just scraping 'blind' per se, but I slow the Biax down and concentrate entirely on delivering a completely consistent pattern of marks over the whole part, making sure each scrape mark is evenly spaced from the preceding one.

I then stone it very lightly and blue up again.

I always find this results in a very nice and even pattern of bearing points, whereas without this 'blind pass' I find I'm sometimes just moving the blue around randomly and not getting it any more even.

Not only does it help with the blueing, it also helps achieve a pleasing aesthetic due to the entire part being covered in consistent marks.

Just thought I'd share.

Rich

How can you make this claim and not show a comparative slide of pictures.....