Coolant systems
Surface plates
CNC machines
DRO's
Three phase motors
Variable speed drives
Dead level lathe
Collets
Micrometers (dang, I hate to say that, but as the Smurfs used to say "Truth is Truth" )

Not that these items do not have a legitimate place in the shop, its just their importance has become greatly exaggerated.

Bill

Can't say I disagree with any of this.

But really, being a machinist isn't the same as owning machine tools. Just speaking for myself, I've put additional purchases of new equipment on hold while I figure out how to do some of the basic operations with the tools I already have. I am a newbie after all.

Walt

Things that are about as important as a new paint job on a worn out lathe:

Carbide tooling
Quick change tool holders
Super precise machines & tooling
Less than .020" backlash
Coolant systems
Surface plates
CNC machines
DRO's
Three phase motors
Variable speed drives
Dead level lathe
Collets
Micrometers (dang, I hate to say that, but as the Smurfs used to say "Truth is Truth" )

Not that these items do not have a legitimate place in the shop, its just their importance has become greatly exaggerated.

Bill

Maybe they won't instantly turn you into a skilled machinist, but many of those items, depending on the equipment you already have, will add to ones ability to better turn out accurate projects, and generally make life at the lathe or mill a little easier.....and if you can more easily complete a project it will add to the enjoyment of the hobby.

M

As a career machinist, we've got a saying: Anybody could make good parts on a brand new machine, it takes skill to get good products from this junk! :lmao:

Truthfully, I'm amazed at some fellows' ingenuity at getting things done, with less. I agree, throwing money at a problem doesn't always solve it. However... the more tools that I build for my hobby shop ( quick- change TP), and the better quality tools ( B&S test indicator ), greatly increase my enjoyment, and success.