Thicker At One End Versus The Other.. ?

BellyUpFish

Active User
Registered
Ok, I'm still learning and on a less than desirable piece of equipment, but it is what it is..

I've noticed that when I go to turn something, the end of the turn near the chuck always winds up thinner than the end near the live center.

For instance, today I needed a piece that was 4.46mm thick and 37mm long. When I got the end near the Chuck to 4.46mm the end near the live center was more like 4.78.

What is the issue here?

Most likely your tailstock is not aligned on center with your spindle. Pulling the tailstock towards the operator by half the difference in turned size would bring it on center. You could place a dead center in the spindle and one in the tailstock and adjust until they are exactly lined up. Or wait until the more experienced guys respond to your question with valuable tips.

The diameter of the stock you are turning will give anybody a headache, it is probably flexing away from the tool somewhat. If I read it right, it's about 1 1/2" long? And you're getting roughly .012" taper? That's a lot. If you meant 37 cm I'd say it's probably partially due to the stock flexing away from the tool. But anyway to check your tailstock alignment, put a piece of stout round stock (maybe 1 1/2 dia) as long as you can comfortably fit in the lathe between centers, and make a pass across it. Check the dia near both tailstock and headstock. Smaller at headstock, move tailstock towards you, etc. You can turn the center down leaving a larger boss on each end if u want, makes it a little faster process. It may take a few passes but you need both ends to be as close as possible to the same diameter to ensure your tailstock is aligned. Order yourself a copy of South Bend's How to Run a Lathe. Lot of good info in there for beginners, or anybody for that matter.