tHE FIRST PROJECT

B

BRIAN

Forum Guest
Register Today
hI ITS MY FIRST TRY AT A POST BUT YOU MAT LIKE TO SEE MY FIRST WORK ON MY MINI LATHE. IWANTED TO START THIS CLOCK 30 YEARS AGO BUT THINGS KEPT GETTING IN THE WAY. WHEN I STARTED THIS TIME A FRIEND ASKED ME TO MAKE ONE FOR HER SO 2 IS NOT A LOT HARDER THAN 1 WHEN YOU HAVE IT SET UP SO OFF WE GO!!! IF THIS WORKS I WILL POST PART2. REGARDS BRIAN

cutting the fusee.JPG

Last edited by a moderator:
I hope I am in the right slot, the photo is out of sequence so I will try again Live and learn .
the project was started as soon as the late was out of the box so I had to build as I went along.
Looking back I was to keen by a long way.
SO I will try again with the photo's

2-Adding the  6mm radii.JPG 3-Cutting the frames.JPG 4-Frame assy.JPG 5-turning the barrel.JPG 6-The pile gets bigger.JPG 7-set up for cutting rachets.JPG 8-cutting 2 winding rachets.JPG 1-The scrap box taper turning attachment.JPG

I seem to have the photos in the corect order now so I will contiue with the show

If any one is interested dont hesitate to ask questions.

OOps hit the wrong button.

13-depthing min wheels.JPG 16-first assy.JPG 20-Table assy.JPG 22-finished dials.JPG 25-finished.JPG 9-great wheel.JPG 12-colection of wheels.JPG

Fine job, Brian! I always appreciate work on timepieces. There is potential far beyond pure function in that type of work. It has an aesthetic appeal that is attractive to me. I've never tackled a clock or watch, but I'd like to someday.

Hi to all. Thanks for your replys and kind comments,

Yes this was a big project ,but the cart came before the horse as they say .my son gave me the book for XmasTwo days later I orderd the lathe!! well I had to blame somone.

The clock is unusual, if you cosider the top part simply as a power house and event counter.and the lower part as the time keeper.