Tap, Die, other tooling reccomended suppliers?

DaveW

Registered
Registered
Hello all. Relatively new to machining. Recently bought my first lathe, a 1941 Logan 200 that has had a threading gear box added to it. I've been following Quinn Dunki, Mrpete and others on Youtube with setup, aligment and project info and have found this community that looks like a great soource of info. I'm a retired electrical engineer and just finished a second career as a HS Physics teacher.

I'm looking to purchase some peripheral items such as taps, dies, drills, cutter blanks, tools, etc and am looking for reccomendations on sources. Amazon drives me crazy as many descriptions are inadequate, sources are vague and I'm not sure I can tell the difference on-line as to junk from quality. Any info wiould be appreciated, and I apologize in advance if this is covered already in a sticky or a turtorial somewhere - just let me know, possibly attach a link and I'll try harder next time to search!

Dave Walker

You came to the right place Dave ! :grin: Make a list . Oh yes , Welcome to H-M .

Right now I'm looking for taps and dies (1" round for use with a die holder) up to 1/2"-20 as well as 3/8" HSS tooling blanks.

Dave

You can get a lot of what you need from members here, but if buying new, there are several places you can try.

Shars.com sells a large variety of tooling, mostly from China, but most is decent quality for a hobbyist. I would recommend searching this site prior to buying any indexible tooling from them to make sure their version of it does not use proprietary inserts.

McMaster-Carr, www.mcmaster.com is an industrial supply house that carries high quality items, but they don’t tell you what brand in most cases. They are usually my first stop.