Tap And Die Organization

omni_dilletante

somewhat active
Registered
I am not sure if I am a hobby machinist, or just like to collect tools.

But once in a while I need to use a tap or die and when I do I cringe at how they are stored.

I have one set in a box that has labels that are impossible to read. Next to that was a jumble of taps I have purchased. Then there was an index I started to populate that will not fit into any drawer and had taps covered in dust and oil.

IMG_1752_zpspz0xc6ev.jpg

I wanted to find a way that kept the taps from grinding into each other. Was easy to add taps to. Kept them clean. Took up minimal space. And made them easy to find.

This is what I came up with.

IMG_1753_zpsmitaqgto.jpg

If the tap came in a container that was clearly marked then I was more than willing to use that container.

For the smaller taps and 1" die I used pill bottles. The taps are kept apart by using soda straws as dividers. I left room in each bottle for the addition of more taps.

MacDonald's straws fit 12 taps into a bottle. (Other fast food places have smaller straws that will fit 18 per bottle, but I did not feel like venturing out for smaller straws.)

IMG_1754_zpsfsrks4et.jpg

Bubble tea straws are about 0.4" in diameter and can be found at the local Asian Grocery. They limit you to 6 taps per bottle. If the tap is to large to fit into a bubble tea straw then it is too long to fit into the pill bottle.

IMG_1755_zpswh19dhxi.jpg

I used Excel to print the labels and the text appears on both sides the bottle with a different orientation. So when you put them into the drawer, if the label is upside down, you just rotate the bottle 180 degrees.

IMG_1756_zpscevil3lu.jpg

The 1" dies fit nicely into these bottles as well.

IMG_1757_zpswzerwq3l.jpg

For the taps that were too long to fit into the pill bottle I had some acrylic tubing I could use.