Square Column Bench Top Or Knee Mill ?

GarageWrench

Registered
Registered
Looking for some input:

I will be purchasing a mill for my home shop. I rebuild Harley engines and build custom motorcycles. I have a Rongfu type round column mill/drill w/dro and its time for a upgrade. To compliment my mill I also have a Craftsman 101 12x36 lathe. I would love to expand my machining capabilities and maybe even venture out and expand my (very small) operation and take on some job work.

Its difficult to determine if a square column bench top will be all I need, and not need to upgrade in the near future. Need to make my hard earned money work for me, HD truck mechanic by trade and no extra funds to flush down the toilet. I have read just about all I can on this forum (which is awesome by the way) and else where, and I really do not want to purchase a used BP style mill and take the time to rebuild/work on. Time is money, and I know a new mill is my best choice. I have narrowed it down to the PM or Grizzly bench top or the Grizzly G0730 type mill. For what I do and want to expand into I am thinking the smaller knee mill may be best for me. I really need to be frugal with my money and my shop is really packed full, but I can make the room for a knee.

I really enjoy reading all the post here, just looking for some input from all the experience that is here and help me with this decision.

Danny GarageWrench

All I have ever heard is, a knee mill of just about any fashion is superior to a mill-drill, square or round column. And that is true. Knee-style mills are more common in industry. If I had my pick, I'd have a knee mill - I've just not got the space for one.

Knee mill is far superior to a square column mill. Someone on this website just bought an 8x30, IIRC. I think this is a good choice; reasonable price, made in Taiwan.

I have its grandfather, a Clausing 8520.

Tim, Not familiar with that name, IIRC, where do I find info on that mill?