South Bend Junior (1930) Threading Setup

silverhawk

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
Hey, guys, I'm entering into a new world here - that of thread cutting. I have been piecing my Junior together (22-YB) for a few years, and I was able to pick up change gears. However, I think I am missing something (a part, or my head, can't tell which at this point).

First of all, the change gears came with an idler gear, that was a little low on the diameter (it's the one on the left) :

IMG_7467.jpg

You can see the gear used to transfer to the lead screw on the upper right. Obviously, the one on the left won't fit to the small teeth on the gear on the right, so I ordered an 80-tooth one from eBay. It arrived, and it, too, wouldn't fit :

IMG_7468.jpg

I don't have one of those forking banjos, either (pardon my dust and chips - I was in the middle of a project):

IMG_7466.jpg

So, I'm either missing something, or I just don't know how to assemble for cutting threads. Does someone have pictures of how the change gears are set up? I couldn't find charts for mine that didn't include the forked banjos, but I don't know how or where to set these things up. If you can do it for two thread pitches, that would be most beneficial - 18 and 46 would tell me exactly how I should be doing it for fine or course threads.

Any ideas, diagrams or suggestions?

So, I am going to apologize right now. They way I function at work when I have questions is to just start poking things (or trying them out). So, I had 20 minutes after work today. I found the solution, but here's how I went about it. I already had the threading chart from the model catalog from 1931. I took a known value from that, an 18-pitch thread, and looked up the gears. The gears were identified as a 32-tooth stud gear, and a 72-tooth screw gear. That gave me two known values. The only thing I had to play with was the compound gear/idler combination in between them. So...