South Bend drum switch options?Wiring questions?

Ski

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I have a South bend lathe,single phase that has no drum switch. It was set up 220 single phase with a big cuttler Hammer on/off switch.The switch is actually a 3 phase switch with only 2 connections in the switch being used. That is another question as I failed to note which of the connections were used for single phase 220 (L1,L2,L3)? Another question is ,can a pushbutton switch (stop/ forward/reverse) 3 button switch be used instead of a drum switch? I'd like to be able to use reverse. This is a D1-4 spindle machine. It seems it would work as well if not better than the drum switch. I believe there are 3 seperate 2 contact switches in it. That said ,I am no motor expert. I am not sure if I will run it at 120 or 220 single phase at this point. I only have so much breaker panel room and already have 2 - 220 v single phase circuits. Motor is a 1 1/2 hp. Again,I have minimal motor expierience but I am ok working with them and electricity. Can any experts offer some guidance? Ski

If your motor is wired to be reversible, then I would go with a drum switch. If the motor is not externally reversible then I would get a 3 phase motor and a VFD if you really want reverse. It should have the wiring diagrams on the motor data plate or inside the electrical connection box. If it is an American made motor the wiring diagram should be pretty easy to track down online also.

It is possible to use push button switches, but I have never seen a reversing push button station that would operate the motor directly, I'm not saying they don't exist, I've just never seen one. Normally the push buttons operate relays that actually control the motor current.

As far as the connections on your existing switch it does not matter which 2 terminals you use.

Mr. Ski;