Slitting Saw Blade

Redbird

Registered
Registered
Been looking at Slitting Saw Blades which I have never used before. Part calls for 0.063 wide slot. If using a 0.063 wide Slitting Saw Blade what will be the finished slot width. Guess what am asking what type of tolerance will I be looking at?

my "guess" would be .063 would be the size of the cut since the blades dont have rake like a wood blade but i will defer to someone whos actually used one.

I was just using a 1/32" blade and got a .031" slot. I expect a 1/16" blade will come in between .062 and .063" if your cut is steady and doesn't force the blade to deflect.

I agree with dave not to force the blade. I was told to go slow and use lots of oil. Heat is your worst enemy. The thin blade will warp and never cut straight again. I seen this on a skill saw.
Jack

Sent from my SGH-I337M using Tapatalk

I use smaller jeweller slitting saws 1" in diameter with thickness down to around 0.008". I am sort of embarrassed that I have never checked the accuracy of a single blade since I usually stack them to get the width of cut I need and make a practice cut and adjust accordingly.

David

If you used a 0.063 wide blade (actual) it cannot cut a 0.063 slot. The blade needs clearance in order to work. Not much clearance, but enough so there will be no binding. The quality of the blade, its sharpness and design all play a big role in the finished slot. It is best to make a test cut first. Also when doing very thin slots <0.015” thick you might try and climb cut the blade instead of conventional. This is against the practice of using a cutter in a milling operation. But it has shown to make a straighter cut. Your milling machine MUST be of adequate size, rigidity and minimal backlash for this task or don’t try it!..Dave

Last edited:
If you used a 0.063 wide blade (actual) it cannot cut a 0.063 slot. The blade needs clearance in order to work.