Show us your Logan lathes!

Hi all my Heros

I have limited experience with a lathe so bear with me please. A friend gave me a Logan 820 from 1947. It has been siting for ~20 years. Dirty but no rust. I am cleaning it up and learning how it is built. It has some minor issues. A few loose screws, missing screws, very small dings on the bed. What worries me most is the play in the Compound hand wheel and the same in the Saddle. Both are about .045". Is that normal? If not what is normal. Everything moves smoothly. No broken anything that I have found yet. Every thing seems to work as near as I can tell.

I have both a 3 jaw and 4 jaw chuck I need to clean up too. It came with KDK tool post and 3 tool holders and several HS tools of various geometries.

I purchased the manual online. The cost was $25.00 for the manual and $23.11 for shipping. WOW that is a lot for mailing a book.

How important is it to precision level this machine?

Any information would be appreciated. Pleases steer me in the right direction.
There is so adjustability. Worst case scenario, you can install a new lead screw and nut…

Does it have the same play along all the travel? Or just in a section? That is one way to know if it is adjustment or needs replacement of parts.

And congratulations!!! I have the same model and just love looking at it!!

That reminds me… where are the photos!!?? :D

Hello fellow Logan owners. This summer I picked up a Logan 2557V with 12" swing and 36" centers. I got it up and running after installing an ADX 10hp American Rotary 3 phase power converter.

20230909_102516.jpgIMG_20230911_143502.jpg

Here are a few pics of the Logan installed. I am now in the middle of replacing the apron worm wheel, worm gear and worm bushings. The power fed on the compound woukd drop out and then reengage after manually advancing the compound.

Disassembly of the apron showed some pertty severve localized wear on worm wheel and sloppy worm bearings. There was no oil in the apron.