• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • PLEASE: Read the FORUM RULES BEFORE registering!

Shizouka An-s Build

alloy

Always looking for the next tool score
H-M Supporter-Premium
#31
We have been into a lot of the mill and had to figure things out for ourselves. A manual would be nice to answer questions when they come up. We are working on getting some backlash out of the X axis ballscrew and we didn't know if had double nuts on it or not. Turns out it does and I'm working on that now, but it would have been nice just to look at the parts manual to answer our question.

The spare parts are yours, just cover shipping. Off hand we have some circuit boards, the Geneva mechanism, 2 gear head motors, and other stuff I can't think of at the moment. I can take pics this weekend to show you what I have.

You can email the scans if you want. I'm alloyspecialties@yahoo.com
 

JimDawson

Global Moderator
Staff member
Director
#32
A little more progress today, got the spindle tach bracket done. One more step closer to being done.

. The tach input is from two 4mm proximity sensors that look at the gear teeth. When one is pointing at the gear tooth, the other is looking at the root. This gives an A/B signal to give both speed and direction to the computer. To the computer it will look just like an encoder.

See the full tach bracket build here http://www.hobby-machinist.com/threads/spindle-tach-prox-bracket.37664/

IMG_0308.jpg

IMG_0304.jpg

IMG_0307.jpg
 

alloy

Always looking for the next tool score
H-M Supporter-Premium
#35
Yes I'm sure I'll love it. Been over 10 years since I've owned a CNC. I run them all day at work and many times I've wished I had one at home to use.

I remember the day Jim and I went to look at the mill. I saw a large mill with NO control and the motors just had cut wires hanging from them.. To me it was a project that I had no hope of completing by myself, but Jim saw what it could be with a little (a lot) of work. Now we are so close to being finished.

I have the ball screw modified so we can use set screws to adjust the backlash and it's ready to install, but there was one metering valve for the way oil that was bad, and it won't be in until today sometime and it goes in under the ball screw, so have to finish the screw and the metering valve up tomorrow when I am at Jim's. The new coolant pump came in yesterday so I can get that wired in and mounted.

I'll post pics of any progress we make.
 

alloy

Always looking for the next tool score
H-M Supporter-Premium
#36
We got a lot more done this weekend on the mill. The table is back on and the oiling problem for the lead screw is taken care of. There was one metering valve in the valve block in the saddle with nothing connected to it and no way to oil the ball screw. I used some brake cleaner and got the valve unplugged and used some 1/8" copper tubing and made up a drip line that oils the screw. Jim looked at the PDF's of the factory manual JimS sent us said that's the way it was done from the factory, but for the life of me I can't understand why anyone would take it off and leave the screw un-lubricated. When I went to put the X axis motor back on I found some slop in the keyway on the ball screw. It would cause backlash so has to be taken care of. Tried drilling the flexible coupler it to put some set screws in to lock it to the shaft, but the coupler is hardened so that didn't work out. I found a new stainless one on fleabay and ordered it today.

We got the spindle motor back on with quite a bit of work. Used some all thread and compressed the spring on the motor pulley so we could drop it in place easier. Jim made a spacer up that held the pulleys apart and we just used pry bars to pop it off after the motor was in place. We used Jim's forklift to lift the motor to put in in place. ( EDIT: Pic added by Jim)

IMG_0318.jpg

Now a rant about Home Depot's 1/2" all thread. Drove 10 miles to get the rod (my second trip yesterday to Home Depot, went there instead of Ace because Harbor Fright is just a few blocks away and we needed a bearing spreader) and got back to Jim's and the rod was covered in such a thick galvanized coating that the nuts couldn't be screwed on. I tried chasing the threads with a die and no dice. What a royal pain, had to make a trip ( my second one yesterday) to Ace hardware for another piece of rod. Needles to say I'm not real high on Home Depot's quality control right now. Cost us precious time and me money.

After we got the motor on I wired up the VFD to the motor. Powered it up and Jim couldn't get the motor it to turn on. So we gave up for the day about 8 last night. Today Jim told me today he found a loose connection on the buss bar (amazingly it isn't something I did) and now the spindle is in his words " spindling" :) I've made a number of "errors" wiring things up and thankfully Jim had the patience to fix them.

No much more left to do now. Jim has a lot of programming to do, and I need to get a 3 way valve on for the mist coolant, ordered it today along with a few other parts from Automation Direct. We also need to get the power draw bar on and wired up and connected to air valve, and the K axis reader head on and wired in and get the X axis ball motor connector on when it comes in, and get the stepper motor on for the speed changer.

I'm sure I'm forgetting something but we will take care of it when it comes up. Jim said we may be making some ships next weekend, that's if all the parts come in.

Today I scored a 1954 Craftsman drill press for $50.

http://www.hobby-machinist.com/threads/picked-up-a-craftsman-drill-press-today.37782/#post-323118

As I said in the thread on the way home with it I told my girlfriend I now have a project to work on at home. She said you need a home project? You work four 10's and spend 2 days a week at Jim's working on your mill and you need a project for your only day off at home? I just laughed.

I don't sit still with nothing to do very well at all even on my "only" day off. She has never been with someone like me before :)


20150815_172135.jpg
20150815_173131.jpg
 
Last edited:

alloy

Always looking for the next tool score
H-M Supporter-Premium
#37
We got a lot accomplished this weekend. More wiring done for the power draw bar, and Jim has it working under the computer and now has to write a Galil program to run the tool changer. When we went to put the power draw bar (a black and decker 1/2" impact wrench) the return spring was missing. I looked for several hours to find a spring that would work but no luck. So we came up with a multi spring setup. Jim machined recesses to retain the springs. He cut 8 recesses, but we only needed 4 to have enough spring pressure to return the draw bar to the up position. I also worked out an oil line for the Z axis ball screw. There was no provision to oil it at all. I have no idea how it ran like that, but it' taken care of now.

The VFD is on and working, but it goes over current when stopping the motor. When I bought the mill there was a stove burner included to use as a resistor, but it's just too difficult to mount it. So I ordered more conventional one from china for $28. The new motor shaft coupler came in for X axis, and after a little modification it's on and working.

I got the speed changer stepper motor mounted on the new plate Jim made for it. We had to modify a sprocket to fit, but it's on and looks good.

There is a lot of programming to do and get Mach working with the Galil. As far as mechanical things to do I need to wire up the K axis reader head, and get the speed changer stepper motor connections done. We also need to get the limit switches on the the speed changer, but need to get the stepper motor working to see where to mount the switches.

I'm sure I'm forgetting something that needs to be done, but we are close. I can almost see chips flying off it :)

20150822_165002.jpg 20150821_165224.jpg
 

JimDawson

Global Moderator
Staff member
Director
#39
Carl, here is what I have so far. Needs a lot of cleanup and I need write the tool changer FULL AUTO code. Then the Speed Change code.

'SHZ2
#AUTO
CN1
CEA=0
CEB=0
CEC=2
CEG=3;'MPG AXIS
MTA=1
MTB=-1
MTC=1
MTE=2;'TC STEPPER
MTG=1
SH A;'X AXIS
'MO A
SH B;'Y AXIS
SH C;'Z AXIS
SH D;'A AXIS
SH E;'E AXIS TC
MO G;'SPEED CONTROL STEPPER
KPA=8
KPB=6
KPC=6
KDA=96
KDB=96
KDC=64
OFA=0.035
OFB=0
OFC=0.007
TLA=5
TLB=5
TLC=5
TLD=5
SPA=12700
SPB=12700
SPC=6000
SPE=1500
ACA=1000000
ACB=1000000
ACC=1000000
ACD=1000000
ACE=100000
DCA=1000000
DCB=1000000
DCC=1000000
DCD=1000000
DCE=100000
OP0
CB44;'OPEN TOOL CLAMP
WT 200
SB44;'TURN OFF TOOL CLAMP OPEN SOL
BKSPON=0;'SPINDLE BRK ON BIT
MPGSCL=25.4;'MPG INITIALSET
MPGPOS=0
MPGDPX=0;'0 IS SET BIT
MPGDPY=0;'0 IS SET BIT
MPGDPZ=0;'0 IS SET BIT
MPGDPA=0;'0 IS SET BIT
TCHM=0
TCPXCT=0
TCJOG=0
TOOLNUM=0
TOOLCNT=0
TOOLNEXT=0
SPDLRUN=0
BLINKER=0
BLINKCNT=0
#A
CN 1;'RESET LIMIT SWITCH CONFIG IN CASE MACH CHANGES THEM
'HOME TC
IF(TCHM=0)&(@IN[5]=0)
'HOME Z AXIS
SPC=6000
FE C
BGC
SHE
WT 500
IF(@IN[28]=0);'MAKE SURE TOOL CLAMP IS OPEN
JGE=1500
BGE
WT 1000
AI -30
AI -31
AI 31
AI -31
AI 31
AI -31
AI 31
AI -31
SPE=100
AI 31
AI-31
STE
TCHM=1
TOOLNUM=24
SPE=1500
AME
ENDIF;'IF(@IN[28]=0)
WT 100
DPE=0
DEE=0
DPC=0
DEC=0
SPC=12700
ENDIF
IF(@IN[5]=1);TCHM=0;ENDIF
'TC MANUAL
IF(@IN[24]=0)
IF(@IN[21]=0);CB44;WT200;SB44;ENDIF;'CLAMP OPEN
IF(@IN[20]=0);CB43;WT200;SB43;ENDIF;'CLAMP CLOSE
IF(@IN[18]=0);CB41;WT200;SB41;ENDIF;'ARM TO SPINDLE
IF(@IN[23]=0);CB42;WT200;SB42;ENDIF;'ARM TO TOOL
IF(@IN[22]=0)&(TCJOG=0);JGE=-1500;BGE;TCJOG=1;ENDIF
IF(@IN[19]=0)&(TCJOG=0);JGE=1500;BGE;TCJOG=1;ENDIF
IF(@IN[22]=1)&(@IN[19]=1)&(TCJOG=1)
AI-31
STE
WT 20
AME
IPE=-30
TCJOG=0
ENDIF
ENDIF;'IF(@IN[24]=0)
IF(@IN[16]=0);CB48;ENDIF;'MANUAL SPINDLE BRAKE ON
IF(@IN[16]=1)&(BKSPON=0);SB48;ENDIF;'MANUAL SPINDLE BRAKE OFF
'MPG
IF(@IN[37]=0);MPGSCL=2.54;ENDIF;'MPG SCALE =0.001
IF(@IN[38]=0);MPGSCL=25.4;ENDIF;'MPG SCALE =0.01
IF(@IN[39]=0);MPGSCL=254;ENDIF;'MPG SCALE =0.1
'MPG X
IF(@IN[4]=0)&(@IN[5]=0)
IF(@IN[33]=0)
MPGPOS=(_TPG*MPGSCL)
IF(MPGPOS<>0);IPA=MPGPOS;ENDIF
AMA
ACA=256000
DCA=256000
SPA=12700
ENDIF;'MPG X
'MPG Y
IF(@IN[34]=0)
MPGPOS=(_TPG*MPGSCL)
IF(MPGPOS<>0);IPB=MPGPOS;ENDIF
AMB
SPB=12700
ACB=256000
DCB=256000
ENDIF;'MPG Y
'MPG Z
IF(@IN[35]=0)
MPGPOS=(_TPG*MPGSCL)
ACC=256000
DCC=256000
SPC=12700
IF((_HMC=1)&(MPGPOS<0))
IF(MPGPOS<>0);IPC=MPGPOS;ENDIF
ENDIF
IF(_HMC=0)
IF(MPGPOS<>0);IPC=MPGPOS;ENDIF
ENDIF
AMC
ENDIF;'MPGZ
'IF(@IN[36]=0)
'IF(MPGPOS<>0);'IPD=MPGPOS;'ENDIF
'AMD
'ENDIF;'MPG A
DPG=0
DEG=0
MPGPOS=0
ELSE
DPG=0
DEG=0
ENDIF;'IF(@IN[4]=0
'END MPG
'MANUAL SPINDLE
IF(SPDLRUN=0)&(@IN[6]=0)&(@IN[8]=1);SPDLRUN=1;SB3;ENDIF
IF(SPDLRUN=0)&(@IN[6]=0)&(@IN[8]=0);SPDLRUN=2;SB2;ENDIF
IF(SPDLRUN=2)&(@IN[8]=1);CB2;WT10;SB3;SPDLRUN=1;ENDIF
IF(SPDLRUN=1)&(@IN[8]=0);CB3;WT10;SB2;SPDLRUN=2;ENDIF
IF(@IN[7]=0);CB2;CB3;SPDLRUN=0;ENDIF
IF(@IN[8]=0);OB 9, BLINKER;ENDIF
IF(@IN[8]=1);SB9;ENDIF
IF(SPDLRUN=0);SB10;CB11;ENDIF
IF(SPDLRUN>0);SB11;CB10;ENDIF
'POWER DB MANUAL
IF(@IN[17]=1)&(@IN[24]=0);'IF TC IN MANUAL
IF(@IN[16]=0);'BRAKE SW ON
CB48;'SPINDLE BRAKE ON
IF(@IN[15]=0);CB45;WT100;SB6;WT 20;SB5;SB7;ENDIF; 'RUN REV TOOL OUT
IF(@IN[14]=0);CB45;WT100;SB5;SB8;ENDIF;'RUN FOR TOOL IN
IF(@IN[14]=1)&(@IN[15]=1);SB45;CB7;CB8;CB5;WT 20;CB6;ENDIF;'PDB OFF
ENDIF
IF(@IN[16]=1)|(@IN[24]=1);SB48;SB45;CB5;CB6;CB7;CB8;ENDIF;'TURN EVERYTING OFF
ENDIF
'BLINK
BLINKCNT=BLINKCNT+1
IF(BLINKCNT>49);BLINKER=1;ENDIF
IF(BLINKCNT>99);BLINKER=0;BLINKCNT=0;ENDIF
WT 10
JP#A
EN
#TCW
T1=TOOLNUM-TOOLNEXT
T2=TOOLNEXT-TOOLNUM
IF(T1<0);T1=T1+24;ENDIF
IF(T2<0);T2=T2+24;ENDIF
IF(T1>T2);JP#TCCW;ENDIF
JGE=1500
BGE
#CWLOOP
AI -31
AI 31
AI -31
AI 31
AI -31
AI 31
AI -31
IF(TOOLNUM=(TOOLNEXT+1));SPE=200;ENDIF
AI 31
AI-31
TOOLNUM=TOOLNUM-1
IF(TOOLNUM=0);TOOLNUM=24;ENDIF
JP#CWLOOP,(TOOLNUM<>TOOLNEXT)
MG TOOLNUM
IPE=-30
STE
MG TOOLNUM
EN
#TCCW
'TOOLNUM=0
'TOOLCNT=0
SPE=1500
IPE=-(T2*1050)
AME
JGE=-200
BGE
AI-31
AI31
STE
AME
JGE=100
BGE
AI-31
STE
AME
TOOLNUM=TOOLNEXT
MG TOOLNUM
EN
#PWRDB;'TEST CODE
WT10
'IN 15 FOR TOOL IN SW 1=OFF
'IN 14 REV TOOL OUT SW 1=OFF
'IN 16 BRAKE SW 1=OFF
'OUT 5 DB RUN SB5=RUN
'OUT 6 DB FOR/REV 0=FOR SB6=REV
'OUT 7 TOOL IN LAMP SB7=ON
'OUT 8 TOOL OUT LAMP SB7=ON
'OUT 45 PDB SOL CB45=ON
'OUT 48 SPINDLE BRAKE SOL CB48=ON
IF(@IN[17]=1)
IF(@IN[16]=0)&(@IN[24]=0);'BRAKE SW ON AND TC MANUAL
CB48;'SPINDLE BRAKE ON
IF(@IN[15]=0);CB45;WT100;SB6;WT 20;SB5;SB7;ENDIF; 'RUN REV TOOL OUT
IF(@IN[14]=0);CB45;WT100;SB5;SB8;ENDIF;'RUN FOR TOOL IN
IF(@IN[14]=1)&(@IN[15]=1);SB45;CB7;CB8;CB5;WT 20;CB6;ENDIF;'PDB OFF
ENDIF
IF(@IN[16]=1)|(@IN[24]=1);SB48;SB45;CB5;CB6;CB7;CB8;ENDIF;'TURN EVERYTING OFF
ENDIF
JP #PWRDB
EN
 

Karl_T

Active User
Active Member
#40
Cool stuff here. I've not done the PLC type programming in Galil. No need with my control, looks to be a great route to go under Mach. have you ran out of I/O yet?

Karl
 

JimDawson

Global Moderator
Staff member
Director
#41
Still have a few I/O left. But the wiring is done so no problem.

The PLC portion is the fun part. Now I just need to figure out how to make Mach3 trigger the various sub-programs to run the tool changer and the spindle.
 
Last edited:

Karl_T

Active User
Active Member
#42
Still have a few I/O left. But the wiring is done so no problem.

The PLC portion is the fun part. Now I just need to figure out how to make Mach3 trigger the various sub-programs to run the tool changer and the spindle.
I/O, you're wrong there. Creeping elegance hasn't set in yet. (my term for the customer asking for just one more thing - again and again)

I really want to see the detail of how you get Mach to talk to Galil. My take on Mach2, it just couldn't do this. So, I dropped BIG BUCKS going to a control that could.
 

alloy

Always looking for the next tool score
H-M Supporter-Premium
#43
I can add more stuff? Cool :)

I did just buy a digitizing probe/tool presetter. And I'm looking at a 4th axis.
But we had already planned for a 4th.

Hmmmm, what can I add???
 

JimDawson

Global Moderator
Staff member
Director
#44
I can add more stuff? Cool :)

I did just buy a digitizing probe/tool presetter. And I'm looking at a 4th axis.
But we had already planned for a 4th.

Hmmmm, what can I add???

Just remember you have to wire it in! ;) I'll make sure it goes on that Galil I/O board:grin:
 

alloy

Always looking for the next tool score
H-M Supporter-Premium
#45
Everything comes with a price, but it's a small price to pay for more cool toys to play with.

Gotta go, eBay here I come :)
 

Karl_T

Active User
Active Member
#46
I can more stuff? Cool :)

I did just buy a digitizing probe/tool presetter. And I'm looking at a 4th axis.
But we had already planned for a 4th.

Hmmmm, what can I add???
For sure the tool presetter, no machine can live without that.

You can use that tool presetter input for a hole center routine. Just locate the touch probe anywhere inside the hole and tell the machine to find center.

Surely, Jim has that jog pendant with the MPG running.

I assume you have a generic output to a 110 volt plug and then an Mcode to turn it on/off. You find a ton of uses for that.

Another that turns air on/off is very useful. I use this to open/close a pneumatic part vice.

I can't live without my laser probe. Now you have a poor man's CMM.

You have asked Jim to write a rigid tapping program? This doesn't even need any I/O.

I could add more but Jim may have me banned from this forum :)
 

JimDawson

Global Moderator
Staff member
Director
#47
For sure the tool presetter, no machine can live without that.

You can use that tool presetter input for a hole center routine. Just locate the touch probe anywhere inside the hole and tell the machine to find center.

Surely, Jim has that jog pendant with the MPG running.

I assume you have a generic output to a 110 volt plug and then an Mcode to turn it on/off. You find a ton of uses for that.

Another that turns air on/off is very useful. I use this to open/close a pneumatic part vice.

I can't live without my laser probe. Now you have a poor man's CMM.

You have asked Jim to write a rigid tapping program? This doesn't even need any I/O.

I could add more but Jim may have me banned from this forum :)

You are giving me a headache! :headache:
 

alloy

Always looking for the next tool score
H-M Supporter-Premium
#48
Wow great ideas! Keep them coming. If Jim bans you I'll speak to Nels and make a donation to get you back on :)

On the Fadal's I run at work we have switched 110v plugs for flood and mist coolant, but those are already on the pendant controlled by lighted buttons. I was thinking of adding a non switched 110v plug for a work light, but that's easy even for me to figure out.

Yes the MPG is running. Works very well.

Hmmm, a laser probe huh, sounds great. A CMM type of function is what I wanted to do with the probe. Never thought of a laser. Gonna have to check into that. There have been many times I've bribed the guy here at work to CMM something for me. But unfortunately he quit, and the new guy isn't cool. So........ :)

Rigid tapping, I didn't think mach supported that. We have that on the VMC's. I'm running it on 2 machines now.

Jim told me he works for food, gonna have to get some of those captain crunch goodies at taco bell for him along with the steak chalupa I get him for lunch :)
 

Karl_T

Active User
Active Member
#49
Rigid tapping is a piece o cake with Galil. It has an electronic gearing feature to slave an axis, in this case to the spindle encoder. I also use it to make my mill a poor man's gear hobbing machine. Hobbs go for nothing on fleabay. Bet Jim can have this all programmed up by tomorrow morning :)

I've been surprised there hasn't been more work on mills as CMMs. A touch probe works best for edges, like the outline and holes etc. The laser is light years faster for surfaces. You just need one that outputs 0 - 10 Volt to the Galil analog input. Most do 4 - 20 miliamp, just a resistor to get voltage.
 

Karl_T

Active User
Active Member
#51
search ebay - my best friend - for laser displacement sensor
http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_odk...l1313&_nkw=laser+displacement+sensor&_sacat=0

They come in all ranges and resolutions, how much would you like to spend?
mine has a range of 40 mm with an accuracy of 0.1mm, got two for $50 way back when. This one won't do the image of a coin, for example. You can buy ones that will do this.

Laser sensors show an edge as a ramp the width of the laser beam. Pruning all this crap out is the issue with lasers.

Karl
 
Last edited:

Jastein

Iron
Registered Member
#53
The tool changer is ALIVE!!!!!! Have it working in full auto. Now to get Mach3 to give it a tool number to pick,

Jim
It looks like you really have the timing worked out on that change routine! It looks like there is a millisecond between when the tool drops in the bucket and the turret starts to move. Perfect. Did you retain any of the original adjustments for the timing or is it all done in software? Mine has a series of cam operated micro switches under a metal box on top.

I like the routine that seeks the closest direction to the tool.

Now for the Mach handoff!

JimS
 

JimDawson

Global Moderator
Staff member
Director
#54
The timing is pretty simple. I'm using the original limit switches and the pressure switches on the clamp. In this case, as soon as it has the Clamp_Is_Open signal, it runs the turret to the next tool position.
 

JimDawson

Global Moderator
Staff member
Director
#55
Well another milestone. Alloy connected the last of the wiring (we think) yesterday. All of the knobs, buttons, relays do what they are supposed to. The spindle runs, the tool changer works, the MPG works, and it runs G-code just like it's supposed to! The mechanical is done, so now it's more software time. I have everything working except the variable speed drive code, which I haven't even started on yet, I'll get that done this week. Then comes the fun of interfacing with Mach3. I've played with it a little bit, and what I have done so far has been a bit frustrating.

If anybody here knows anything about interfacing Mach3 with Galil, PLEASE jump right in. I have Mach3 and Galil talking to each other and am able to run G-code from Mach3, but I need to understand how the messaging works between them.:headache:

Jim told me he works for food, gonna have to get some of those captain crunch goodies at taco bell for him along with the steak chalupa I get him for lunch :)
Alloy got me a couple of those. They are really good, nice & gooey :encourage:.
.
.
 
Last edited:

Karl_T

Active User
Active Member
#56
Jim, I'm extremely well versed in Galil and have many year's experience in factory automation. I even made four Japanese GMfanucs talk to an Italian PLC (Siemens) once. And the same system had to talk to a dozen Parker compumotors and twenty Allen Bradly mold machine controllers.

I know almost nothing about Mach internals. If you can't find better help, send me the docs you have and the trials you've made. When I'm stuck, Ive found having somebody to bounce ides off can be helpful.

Of course, if you can find somebody that already knows how; that would be FAR better.

Karl
 

JimDawson

Global Moderator
Staff member
Director
#57
Karl, like you , I have been doing factory automation for years and have worked with just about every PLC and communication protocol there is. The Galil end is cake, but Mach3 doesn't use any normal industrial conventions. What I really find interesting is there is a messaging function built into the Galil plug-in for Mach3, but no instructions on how to use it or call a message.

What I really need is one example of send a message out and get a message back. I just need more time to wade through the documentation and programmers references.
 

Jastein

Iron
Registered Member
#58
Karl, like you , I have been doing factory automation for years and have worked with just about every PLC and communication protocol there is. The Galil end is cake, but Mach3 doesn't use any normal industrial conventions. What I really find interesting is there is a messaging function built into the Galil plug-in for Mach3, but no instructions on how to use it or call a message.

What I really need is one example of send a message out and get a message back. I just need more time to wade through the documentation and programmers references.
Jim
It might be worth posting at the "VB and the development of wizards " place on the Mach forum. There may be some clues in previous postings there. Too bad the Mach/Galil doesn't answer your questions.
Like I mentioned a while back, the only thing I have ever seen about controlling the tool changer is with either a VB script or a Mach "brain".
JimS
 

Karl_T

Active User
Active Member
#59
Hope you don't resent too much advice from the cheap seats....

http://www.machsupport.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/VBScript_Commands.pdf

http://www.machsupport.com/forum/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=12730.0;attach=17795

I assume you know these. The first had examples of file I/O. A lower tech suggestion, have mach write a string to a file and then wait until its value is changed. Mach only needs to know "program complete". Then run a loop in Galil reading this file, and act on its content, and then change the file.

No where near messaging., you'll have to allow for sharing violations, but should work.

This advice is worth what you paid for it.
 

mitch

Iron
Registered Member
#60
The tool changer is ALIVE!!!!!! Have it working in full auto. Now to get Mach3 to give it a tool number to pick,

Jim,

were you able to get mach and the galil to play nice?

i just happened across this forum yesterday in search of something else.

I have my both my SX3 bench top mill with a traic atc, a BP 308 VMC, running the DMC4080, working well with mach3. tool changes are sweet, trouble free.
my vmc only has an 8 station atc, i have mach uses them as slots, where as it can then track 256 tools. each slot has a userled, dro assigned. click on slot1, insert 23. mach will then see the m6t23 and locate it in slot 1.

there are many ways to get the information from mach to the galil. if you are using the galil soley to run the atc, use the screenset editor, create some userLED, userDRO;s for your tools. use the dro for current tool, and commanded tool, send those thru the plugin custom notify table to the galil,

seen it done also for atc with few tools, that they use the extended i/o on the galil. each tool is assigned one input, output.

can be done by modbus as well

you will need a macro set for mach to use/ follow and run on that does the tool changing internally with in the program.
how extensive that is will be determined by how much of it you have the galil doing. if you have a strong error control built into the galil, that can trigger an estop for a misloaded tool, missing tool, atc fault etc. the macro set can be small simple and sweet. bascially useing it to pause mach for the tool change, request a tool, wait for the galil done bit to say it completed. and return to machining.