Sherline Machine right for the job or too small?

elementalrage

Registered
Registered
Let me preface this by saying, I am new to the machinist world and am grateful for the members' knowledge here. I do have a strong knowledge of software and can use 3D programs.

I need to make some small pieces (see graphic), but a lot of them (200+), so I want to use a CNC lathe. I would look for a company to make them, but I would rather learn the trade and end up with some machinery in the shop to play with after the work week is done.

I have a ~$2500 budget which should get me a Sherline 4400 Lathe, the 6731 CNC Upgrade Kit as well as Mach 3 software and some accessories (chuck, hss bits).

THE QUESTIONS ::

The piece in the graphic is rougly 1.5" long. If I use 3/8" 6061 stock is the Sherline CNC going to take forever to make each piece? There is not much metal coming off each pass.

Also, is buying a lathe this small going to be a huge waste of money OR is this suitable for the task? I know stepping up to a higher end CNC machine will add several thousands to the price - is there a better option?

What would be the best starter chuck to buy? I want quick repeatability and accurate within a 0.002".

Thanks!

daren

Last edited by a moderator:
daren,

I'm not sure I understand your concern. You did say aluminum, right? You're only talking a total depth of cut of .110" if you start with 3/8" material. Do I assume correctly that the largest diameter of the finished part is .185". If so, why are you starting with 3/8" material? Why not use 1/4"?

Regardless, I don't see a problem. The Sherline should make quick work of this.

Steve

I agree, the sherline should have no problem with that. They are small, but capable machines from what I have seen.

Now, if you plan to do larger pieces, that may be a reason to look at larger hardware, but for stuff on the scale you are describing, you should be just fine.

daren,