Sherline Boring Depth Question

Dear Mr. Hall,
Thank you for your reply and link to the smaller boring head. I would have responded sooner, but have been away on holiday. The only regret of the holiday was that your book "Dividing" did not come soon enough for me to take it along for my reading material. I have been using several of your books in the Workshop Practice Series and really appreciate the time and effort you put into them. The projects I have completed have all been very helpful in the shop. I look forward to the dividing head project and will give the boring head a go before I start the dividing head.

Sincerely,
Tom Harper

Thanks Bernie and Mikey,
That info definitely gives me some options and a better understanding for approaching such questions. Bernie, thanks for pointing out the need to observe. I am pretty new to this and feel like I am wading around in the shallow end of a very large body of water. It's exciting, but I am wary of not knowing what I don't know. The last thing I want to do is mess up my lathe or mill. I've never failed to surprise myself with the clever ways I can manage to do stupid things when I don't know much about what I am doing. Okay, off to make some decisions. I am looking forward to starting this project, but have to go on a vacation first. Life is tough sometimes. :). I'll post some shots once I get started.

-Tom

Also check the index markings on the adjustment dial to see if they are radius or diameter. Take your time. If you get a dust cloud from the boring use a shop vacuum. Good Luck

Thanks again Tom for your comments, it is always encouraging to hear that ones work is being found useful.

Further to my comments about the mini boring head and it being a good subject to learn how to use the lathes faceplate, it occurs to me that the more general article on my website on using one would also make useful reading before starting the head.