Setup for steel plate??

negatronix

Active User
Registered
Hi all! Total noobie here... go easy please!

My question- I need to cut some 3/16 & 3/8 CR plate into shapes, that will later be welded into a spindle. Should the material be clamped into a vise so it is standing on edge, and milled along the top surface, or mounted flat and milled along an edge much like one would use a jigsaw to cut a shape out of wood...or so to speak.

There are a few holes in each part, which would allow me to make a few spacers, and bolt the part to the table as well. This would hold the part parallel to the table, as well as hold it up off the table.

I am a complete noob, and want to ask questions to avoid getting hurt, avoid unnecessary tool damage, and of course.. I don't want to pick up any bad habits. I will have lots of flat parts to make so any good advice on setting up to cut plate into irregular shapes will be a huge help to me.

Thanks in advance!
-Kory

Hi all! Total noobie here... go easy please!

My question- I need to cut some 3/16 & 3/8 CR plate into shapes, that will later be welded into a spindle. Should the material be clamped into a vise so it is standing on edge, and milled along the top surface, or mounted flat and milled along an edge much like one would use a jigsaw to cut a shape out of wood...or so to speak.

There are a few holes in each part, which would allow me to make a few spacers, and bolt the part to the table as well. This would hold the part parallel to the table, as well as hold it up off the table.

I am a complete noob, and want to ask questions to avoid getting hurt, avoid unnecessary tool damage, and of course.. I don't want to pick up any bad habits. I will have lots of flat parts to make so any good advice on setting up to cut plate into irregular shapes will be a huge help to me.

Thanks in advance!
-Kory