Seeking Guidance on Bending Project

auto.pilot

Active User
Registered
This small steel part is from a 1930's snare drum. There are 16 of them on each drum. I'd like to replicate them as near as possible. Ultimately, I'd like to make many more than 16, perhaps several hundred. 1/8 by 5/8 bar stock is available, and cutting/drilling to size is simple enough. However, I could use some guidance on the bending process. I have a 20 ton H frame shop press (hydraulic bottle jack), but don't have a brake. I also have a 3 ton arbor press. Some questions: 1) Is this a job for the arbor press? 2) will I need goose neck dies for the sharp bends? 3) what method should be used for the curved bend? 4) given that I am new to this... what else do I need to consider?

Thanks in advance.

20170219_215936 P1.jpg 20170219_215849 P2.jpg
20170219_215817 P3.jpg
20170219_224706 Drum.jpg

My thoughts, based on equipment I have (not doing you much good), would be to bend them on my little Hossfeld bender. It would probably take a little thinking and making a die for the curve ... but I think a guy could figure it out. That curve and skinny bend would be first. Either a die to form that in a single bend or bend the curve, then reposition and put in the angle. The other two bends are easy peasy.

Something else to think about, the profile of that skinny angle and curve is not dissimilar to some vice jaws. I was bending a piece of sheet in the vice last night and would have ended up with similar profile had I kept going past 90*. Build a little jig/block to match the profile. Bend a 90 to start and then place in the jig (in the vice) to bend the rest of the way. You could put the 'tail' of the piece in a piece of 3/4" pipe for some leverage while bending the curve around your die. Then tackle the two 90s and trim to size.