Rotary Table Questions

HBilly1022

Registered
Registered
I'm a newbie and looking at getting a rotary table for my milling machine but not sure what to look for. From what I've read so far I don't want a 4 " table and should probably get a 6", since the 8" tables are very heavy. So the questions are:
1) Can all rotary tables have dividing heads added to them or this specific to each make / model. I don't want to spend the extra money for dividing heads right now and don't know if it is something I will use. So unless I can get a great deal on a combo set or I have to get get them together, I will likely just get the rotary table to start with. It would be nice if I could just add them later, if I find a need.
2) Does it matter how many slots are in the table?
3) Are there any specific features I should be looking for?

First off, do you want a horizontal-only table or a horizontal-vertical?

If a 5" would suit your needs, Grizzly has a nice hor-vert combo set, T25937, that "has it all," including a 4-jaw chuck, tailstock, hold-downs, etc. $280, not yet available, but you can pre-order. Don't know anything about the quality, but as always, you generally get what you pay for.

I started with Grizzly's 6" horizontal, H2677, $260, then bought a dividing plate set later (G9295, $75).
/begin brag/
Matter of fact, Grizzly did NOT originally say that this set would fit my table. But it looked right (ID and screw pattern), so I bought it "on spec" and lucked out. I told them about it, and now the G9295 is listed as an accessory for the H2677.
/end of brag/

If you need a 6" hor/vert, you might want to look at G1049, $325, then later buy a set of plates (G1760, $150) and possibly a tailstock (G1763, $105). Of course, if you want to add a chuck, you'll need even more dough.

Hope this helps!