Rotary Head/Dividing Head Question

Chucketn

Toxic Lunatic & Psychotic
Registered
About a year ago I purchased a Vertex 4” Rotary Table without the accessories for dividing, or the tail stock. It was an expensive investment, and as of now, I haven’t used it much. I have made a copy of my lathe spindle nose, mounted on an MT2 taper and can mount the lathe faceplate, and 3” and 4” chucks on it.
I’m studying gear cutting, and dividing and such and realize I need to be able to index and divide accurately to make gears. I have found several examples of homemade ones, and priced the accessories made for my RT.
My dilemma is, do I Spend as much as the RT cost to get the indexing accessories, or make my own dividing head, al-la Gingery, or some other style? Do I make a tail stock? Do I really need a tail stock?
So, my question, plea, request is: Has anyone made their own dividing head, tailstock? Or has anyone made their own indexing accessories for their RT? Any plans out there?
Chuck in E. TN

Hi Chuck,As you've already got the rotary table, you can make your own plates! divide the 360 degrees by the division factors you want to get the right angles or print a pie-chart with your spreadsheet of choice, then print some circles of holes on your printer, stick to a temporary dividing plate and use these to drill a set of plates (count round the same number of hole gaps as your worm ratio in the rotary table) and the errors from printing will average out - if you're really keen do it twice or thrice with each improved plate and the errors will be "vanishingly small".

The sector arms and handle/pin assembly will actually be harder to produce than the plates...

Dave H. (the other one)

Hi Chuck