Reversing Switch And Controller Protection

grantj

Registered
Registered
Hi all, sorry, I have very little experience with electrical circuits.

I want to add a Motor Reverse switch (DPDT) to the Harbor Freight mini mill spindle.
But from what I've read, if the spindle is still turning, when the power is off, the motor acts like a generator and produces current.

If I want to protect the control board from burning up, would this set up work? Adding two diodes before the motor and switch, so that current could not flow back into the board?

Thank you!

IMG_20150727_142429.jpg

Last edited:
Does your motor have permanent magnets instead of stator windings? That would be necessary to be able to reverse the motor as you have it drawn. If the motor is a universal motor (ac/dc) then your circuit won't work.

Assuming a PM motor, A permanent magnet dc motor will act as a generator while it is turning. When your controller is turned from full rpm to zero, the back voltage will be applied to the controller as the motor winds down and the controller should be able to handle it. Diodes aren't necessary.

When you reverse the controller voltage with your added switch, the generated voltage it will be assisting rather than bucking the applied voltage which should cause an increased current draw until the motor comes to a stop and reverses direction. That may be more current than your controller can handle.

Its the stock motor that comes with the Harbor Freight mill, I believe it is permanent magnets.

I'm still not sure I understand what I should do then. I had an electronics class many years ago, but it was unfortunately more math based than practical application.