"Reverse the shipper-rod"... huh?

showmedata

Registered
Registered
From "How to run a lathe", 1935 edition:
IMG_5328.JPG

I've looked all through the book and can't find "shipper-rod" identified anywhere. Is there a way to reverse the carriage travel without getting out of synch, other than stopping and reversing the motor? Since I converted to a 3-phase motor on a VFD, my lathe doesn't start and stop quickly.

I'm just learning to cut threads, so if anyone has links to a how-to that is applicable for my 1937 model T 11" SBL, I would appreciate a pointer. I've searched the usual forums and haven't found anything yet.

Thanks.

If you have a thread dial, there is no need to reverse the shipper rod, which on a line shaft lathe reverses the spindle rotation by engaging the clutch on the countershaft with the crossed belt as opposed to the other clutch with the open belt. Note that this manual suggests cutting the thread with infeed of the cross slide, not the compound rest; not only did some old lathes not have a thread dial, but some did not have a compound rest, so threading would have to be done with a straight in plunge cut, which does not make for satisfactory threading, due to chips being generated on both sides of the cut and interfering with each other, this is especially true with coarser pitches, At any rate, with archaic lathes, the shipper rod extended down from the countershaft overhead, over the headstock, and was essentially a lever that worked the clutches, it sometimes would have a horizontal extension to the right of the lever to allow shifting directions when the person, if working further to the right of the lever, could reach the extension rather than the lever itself.

Thank you very much, @benmychree, for the great explanation! It is a little odd that the diagram clearly shows a cross slide with compound, but (as you said) says to use the cross-slide for cutting feed.

I'll be practicing with the threading dial, I suppose.