Replacing damaged half nut on a Colchester Master Mk2 Lathe

metalman133

Registered
Registered
Hi everyone,
I'm new to this forum and this is my first post. I have a Colchester Master Mk2 lathe (US fellow users would call this a Clausing, but I'm in the UK). It's a square head model, 13" swing and 36" between centres. I need to replace the half nut and have no idea how to go about getting at it, never having done a job like this before. I have a replacement half nut ready to fit.

Is there anyone on the forum with experience of this? I need to know thinks like Do I remove to cross slide? Do I dismantle the apron? etc (and if so, how?)
Any helpful suggestions would be very gratefully accepted.

K

How you doing metalman133
I have just recently acquired a 21" Colchester 8001 series lathe, the square head type at 100" between centers and have taken the apron off and took out the half nuts just to clean and change the seals around the feed shaft pinion. I am not sure if your lathe being smaller would be much different, but it was pretty easy on this one. I did take the saddle off, first by removing the hold downs that have the adjustable gibs under the bed for the saddle. I did have the apron blocked up for support, then removed the lead screw, feed screw and the third shaft end block at the end of the bed. then I slide the apron off, I did have to remove the feed shaft since the key-way did not go all the way through the length of the shaft. If your 13" is anything like this one once you have the apron off like I said I changed the oil seals around the feed screw pinion, just because I would get a drip of oil here and there. I took the half-nut off and other pieces just to clean and scrub. I put it all back together in no time. I hope this may help you. BTW anyone out there with a 21" or 17" Colchester 8001 series I am looking fort some parts and the 21 and the 17 have a lot of the same parts Mike