[Newbie] Repairing Some Older Machines

Millipedeman123

Registered
Registered
Ive picked up a couple of machines a couple days ago for steal. They both need some work. And Im lucky that the work they need is pretty minor. A missing Bearing carrier/powerfeed/handle and dials on the Lagun and a a broken knob and lever and trashed pulley /new belts on the Cincinnati. Anyone work on these particular machines before? Any advice would be welcome. I have an uncle whos going to machin a new drive pully for the Cincinnati for me and that just leaves the belt and handle, and rewiring the whole thing for a VFD. I have zero experience with any machining besides the little my uncle taught me and what I've read. I appreciate all the comments and advice I receive.

I have a buddy with the Cincinnati Toolmaster like yours, the Cincinnati Monoset collets are very hard to find as are spare parts for it. I hope you got a set with the purchase!

I got a mostly complete set and the collets are easy to find just expensive hardinge? Makes then I believe.

Very good find, Millipedeman. You have an excellent starting point. Certainly no commercial enterprise is going to be interested (which is why nice machines like those get scrapped). I have a Cincinnati Toolmaster as well - it didn't need quite as much work as yours (seems they all need attention) - see my posts elsewhere. There always is a lot of cleaning, and generally one has to source tooling. I have mine running (sort of). I ended up making a z-axis crank and am in process of making a couple of the shifter pins & knobs for the table feed gear box.

I figured I would wait until it was running before filling out some basic tooling (I have another small mill and some tooling overlaps).