[Newbie] Recommendations On A New Vise For Mini Mill...

I second the advice to give LMS a call. Ask to speak to Chris, the owner. I'm sure he will do right by you.

As for a new vise, I'm also a rookie so take this FWIW, I have a Tormach 90mm screwless vise on my LMS 5500 bench mill and it has suited my needs (although not that many) so far. The jaws are 3-1/2" wide, 1-1/2" deep and open up to 4+". It cost me under $150 shipped. They also sell a 120mm model for under $250 shipped if you want bigger.

If I do ever upgrade, I'm thinking it will probably be to something like the Tormach 4" CNC vise to have the ability to change out and/or rearrange the jaw plates. But, that's somewhere down the road for me yet and my thinking may change as I gain experience.

Tom

I second the advice to give LMS a call. Ask to speak to Chris, the owner. I'm sure he will do right by you.

As for a new vise, I'm also a rookie so take this FWIW, I have a Tormach 90mm screwless vise on my LMS 5500 bench mill and it has suited my needs (although not that many) so far. The jaws are 3-1/2" wide, 1-1/2" deep and open up to 4+". It cost me under $150 shipped. They also sell a 120mm model for under $250 shipped if you want bigger.

If I do ever upgrade, I'm thinking it will probably be to something like the Tormach 4" CNC vise to have the ability to change out and/or rearrange the jaw plates. But, that's somewhere down the road for me yet and my thinking may change as I gain experience.

Tom
Thanks for the Tormach info -- I did send him an email last night asking if it was covered under any type of warranty, as it's only been in use a couple of months.

Not sure how big your mill is or what you plan on making, but here are some links to ponder.