Reclaimed Oak - Pallet Hammer

Ulma Doctor

Infinitely Curious
Registered
Hi Guys,

I'm trying very hard to gain woodworking skills , frankly because i'm not very good at it.
I have no problem throwing myself at something that i feel deficient in, this being a perfect example.
Making your own tools is one of the best ways of learning the materials.

Sure i could have went and bought a brand new hammer for knocking cellulose around with, but what's the fun in that??? OR
I could spend 8 hours and about $5 and have a hammer that will last for many years to come.
it's no real stretch to guess what choice i made....:grin:

I started of by reclaiming White Oak from a beautiful 48"x 40" pallet that was carelessly tossed away in a pile.
the pallet weighed a ton, and it was dry.
I used a 7 1/4" circular saw to render the small pile of useable stock
There is quite a bit of wood in a pallet, i never stopped to consider how much wood is actually there.

I selected 4 pieces of reclaimed wood for the hammer project
Pallet%2BHammer.jpg

I started by ripping the long, wide piece to a manageable size for layout of the handle.
I ran the pieces through the planer/joiner to get them a little straighter and so i wouldn't have to do as much sanding.

Pallet%2BHammer%2B1.jpg
With a try square and ruler, i laid out the rough dimensions for the handle.

I cut the handle from the blank freehand with the Shopsmith 10" table saw and started to customize the grip...
Pallet%2Bhammer%2B2.jpg

I love the smell of sawn oak for some reason, it's a happy smell for me!

Assembly was straightforward.
with only 4 pieces to put together , even a buffoon could look like a champion :cool:
the 2 sides, the handle and 2 filler pieces were glued and clamped
I chose regular Gorilla Glue to stick the water dampened pieces together.
Gorilla Glue requires dampened pieces to activate the glue to cure.