Reasons to Keep Smaller Lathe

Should I Keep or Sell the Craftsman?

• Total voters

Susan_in_SF

Wood and Metal Goddess
Registered
Hello,
I am a newbie who bought a nice old Craftsman 101.07301 metal lathe awhile ago. At the time I bought it, I really did not know (beyond the obvious size issues) the limitations of such a small lathe. At the same time, I am working out of a 1 car garage that also has woodworking equipment in it as well. I really lucked out and found an affordable South Bend 9" model A lathe being sold due to the owner passing away. The South Bend's bed is 48 inches. My 6" Craftsman's bed is 30 inches. Is there any practical reason for keeping the Craftsman lathe? I like the little guy, but if the South Bend can work on small parts just as well, I might just sell the Craftsman. I was once told by a hobby machinist that smaller lathes work better making smaller stuff than bigger lathes. As for what the lathe(s) would be used for, that is up in the air. I am hoping to share my workshop with friends so we have the ability to make anything we want. That is pretty vague I know. Hence, I now am here asking you experienced guys your opinion on keeping or selling the 6" lathe. I will be taking a poll , but if you have any friendly feedback, you are welcome to share :)

Thanks,
Susan
20170222_164328.jpg 00q0q_jdF9B4UhW74_600x450-1.jpg

Last edited:
Welcome, IMHO the craftsman lathe that you have can be easily replaced with something better and you would not look back. And that is only if you really needed a second lathe. Nice pics!…Dave

Last edited:
I also purchased a lathe which I soon found out was too short for my needs. I still have this, but should sell mine since I really need the room.

If you keep the lathe you can have this setup for certain operations, such as a 4 jaw chuck for dialing in close tolerance work on one lathe and 3 jaw chuck on the other. It helps if both lathes have the same spindle thread so can interchange chucks.