R8 Collet Set What Should I Buy????

mickri

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
My Excel mill/drill uses R8 collets and it didn't come with any collets so I need to buy some. I can't decide whether to buy a set of collets with every 1/8, 1/16 or 32nd sizes. I have a Jacobs drill chuck MT2 model 100 hold drills from 9/32 to 1/2 and a Cushman drill chuck MT2 that goes up to 9/32. I know that a I need a R8 to MT2 adapter to be able to use the drill chucks in the mill/drill. My drill press is a cheapy HF and no good for precision drilling. I plan to use the mill/drill for any precision drilling. Should I go with the 1/8 set which will probably cover my milling needs and use the drill chucks for drilling? Or do I need the 1/16 or 1/32 sizes. I am a newbie to this and have no experience using my mill/drill. Thanks for any advice you guys can offer.

Chuck

Welcome, I can’t predict my future? So if you can’t either? If your wallet can handle it, just go for it and get the best and biggest set you can find. You just might be needed them all one day…Dave

have a 32nds set and rarely use any other type of tool holder on my mill. I do have the usual stuff like a drill chuck but the collets do me fine.

Consider that there are fractional, wire size, letter size, metric and off sized drills. Having an R8 collet for everything you may need isn't practical.

I would suggest you consider a good keyless chuck (Albrecht, Rohm) with an R8 arbor or 3/4" straight shank that can be held in a 3/4" collet. Add an ER-32 chuck with an R8 arbor for tool holding and a decent set of collets (Techniks is good and they're accurate enough). Then buy a basic set of good R8 collets in 1/8" increments (I like Crawford collets but there are many others) and you should be able to hold almost anything in the shop with a fair degree of accuracy.