Quick change tool post for SouthBend 9A lathe

thequietman

Registered
Registered
I'm pretty new to metalworking. I recently got my old South Bend 9A out of storage (long story) and started playing with it again. Very quickly realized that the tool post I have seems to be made for a smaller lathe (if that is even possible) as the tool sits too low to be at the center of the work piece, even if I position the tool all the way at the top of the post. I've managed to shim the post up temporarily to get the tools positioned properly. I will need to come up with a more permanent solution.

I started thinking about getting a quick change tool post with appropriate tool holders. Needless to say, there isn't one made for my specific lathe (it's about 60 years old), and whatever generic stuff I can find is expensive.

I did come across this item in Grizzly catalog at a more reasonable price : http://www.grizzly.com/products/17-Piece-Quick-Change-Tool-Post-Set/T10166. Is that a decent set to get started with, or should I save my money and look for something more reliable? What would be a good one to get for a 9" lathe?

Since you already have it, I'd probably make a dedicated shim to get the tool post up on spindle centerline and run with it. Somewhere down the road you may find need for a bigger tool post, but maybe not. Is the body of your current tool post made of steel, or is one of those aluminum deals for the 7" mini lathes? If it's steel, I'd definitely stick with it for the time being.

http://www.grizzly.com/products/17-Piece-Quick-Change-Tool-Post-Set/T10166. Is that a decent set to get started with, or should I save my money and look for something more reliable? What would be a good one to get for a 9" lathe?

I'd recommend a wedge style QCTP, the one you have a link to is a plunge type.
As far as price, this is the cheapest I found on eBay: http://www.ebay.com/itm/AXA-Size-We...082491?hash=item4b1367463b:g:Y3cAAOSw2xRYm1AI