Question On Mounting An Indicator On Noga

GAtkins

Registered
Registered
All,

First post here, complete newb, total idiot, willing to learn. Taking a class at the local VoTech.

I have a Noga and both a dial indicator (Mitutoyo) and a dial test indicator (Interapid). The Noga I have has the multi-mount on the end with the red dot and can hold 3/8, 5/8, lug back, and maybe a metric or two.

Because of my newbness, I have no clue how to mount these things on the Noga. The stem housing on the Mitutoyo will go in the large hole with some difficulty, but the the stem and entire gage are not at an optimal angle.

Done anyone have pictures of different gages mounted on the Noga that could enlighten me?

Looks like a great forum and great people around here. I'm glad to be a part of the group.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Glenn Atkins

You did not mention using the knurled knob to loosen the clamp on the side of the multi sized adapter. If you do not know, loosening the knob loosens things and allows an easier fit for the indicator, and also allows the multi fit to be swiveled in the opening it is fitted to. If you have the fine adjustment at the indicator end, it can be helpful to arrange things so the indicator face is facing the opposite direction from the fine adjust knob. But, of course, do what works for what you are trying to achieve. Also, Noga makes a bunch of indicator mounts, with lots of different arrangements and different sizes for mounting things. The model number of your Noga and the stem diameter of your Mitutoyo indicator would be helpful.

Bob,

Thanks for the help. The Noga I have is the MG71003, which has the FA1500 fine adjustment and the FA1510 that holds 6mm, 8mm, 3/8, dovetail, and back lug.

And the Mitutoyo I have is the 2416S-10 with a 3/8 stem diameter.

Yes, I know that about Noga, but their website is extremely not user friendly.

Glenn