• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • PLEASE: Read the FORUM RULES BEFORE registering!

Question about lathe stalling

ecdez

Active User
I have a South Bend 11 with what appears to be the original 1/2hp Westinghouse motor wired for 220v. I was taking a cut and it seemed to stall the spindle rather easily so I looked into the flat belt to see if it was slipping and it wasn't so I checked the V belt too and it wasn't slipping either. The electric motor is actually stopping. I pulled the motor and checked the brushes and everything seem fine, oiled it up and rotated by hand and there's no binding so I threw it back in and no change.

I'm no lathe expert but I don't think I should be able to stop the motor by grabbing the lathe chuck by hand. Am I wrong?

This lathe is new to me so not enough experience to see it go from bad to worse.

Asm109

I have a SB 10 inch lathe with a 1/2 hp 3 phase motor. It will take .1 inch depths of cuts in mild steel without slowing down.

Sounds like your motor is buggered

woodchucker

There are no brushes in a 220V AC motor.
For a single phase you have capacitors, and some motors have both start and run capacitors.
I suspect your caps are bad. Or you are wired for 110 rather than 220, on a 220 motor.. that would also lead to a weak motor.

markba633csi

Can you post a pic of this motor? It sounds like the wrong type of motor to be using if it indeed has brushes
Mark

ecdez

Active User
It does indeed have brushes, 4 of them. It's a 110/220 motor and I have it wired for 220 which is how they wired it where I got it from.

I'll post some pics in the morning.

The wiring tag says 1 phase (single phase) and it has 9 wires coming out of it. 6 are paired off and attached to each other for 3 groups of two and the other three go to power. The tag says T1, T2 and T3 are used for forward and reverse but does not show 110 vs 220 wiring.

Ken from ontario