Possible Heavy 10 Purchase Feedback

Hozzie

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
ok, so I have asked about a few different lathes over the last few weeks and appreciate everyone feedback. I almost went ahead and ordered a new PM1236 (or maybe even a PM1340gt) today. They are 3-4 weeks out so in my usual non-comittal way, I am still looking.

I am headed to visit my brother so I figured I would see what is available around him and I ran across this heavy 10. I am new to Lathes, but it appears to be in good shape at first glance compared to others I have seen. I would of course check it out and run it, but I am wondering about opinions from those who know these machines well. It only has a 24" bed, but I think that is actually ok for me. I am really only looking to chamber and thread some of my own rimfire barrels and make some small items like a bore guide. I would do that through the headstock. I don't ever plan to profile a barrel.

It has a 3 jaw, 4 jaw, and 5c collet chuck.

He is asking $1950 for the lathe. I would have to either rent a truck and bring it back or pay to have it shipped. Not sure if it is worth it or not. I am from Nashville and you don't see these for sale around here very often. I would appreciate any feedback from those of you that know way more about these than me. The price seems good, but I may be missing something. Or, should I just go ahead and order a PM? Thanks!

Pics:
i-gPdQFCn.jpg
i-4Ksm7Sp.jpg

Last edited:
Looks like a 10k not a heavy 10.. not enough knowledge, but the heavy 10 I saw looked much different.
Looks in good condition.

It could be. I don't know these lathes hardly at all other than I know what they are and I know the heavy 10's are used a lot for gunsmithing. From the pictures I compared it to, it looked like some labeled as heavy 10's. This was why I wanted to ask. Thanks for the response.

Looks like a heavy 10 to me. 10k has rounded corners on the carriage.